We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort food, Greek style!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Demetre's Family Eatery

Demetre's Family Eatery
1100 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6Z3, Canada
(519) 272-0755
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 114 Restaurants in Stratford
Cuisines: Greek, Family Fare
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stratford, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfort food, Greek style!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Whenever we are in the mood for some comfort food, my family will head over to Demetre's. We always hope to be greeted by Leah's smiling face but if not, there is always a friendly persom waiting to take us to our seats. The specials are always good deal but my favourite is moussaka which comes with rice and salad. While it may not be fancy, it is satisfying and reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    28
    18
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Local favourite, plain food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Been around for a while. Generic menu with vintage décor. Local favourite but visitor well advised to try the more modern, dynamic restaurants in town. Good prices though.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food for value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Ignore the 1980's decor and enjoy the food. We shared asparagus soup and they brought us two full separate bowls! It tasted great! Then we both had Demetres chicken wraps which came with fries. Large serving and delicious ! Very pleasant staff. The restaurant was quite busy when we drove by it. Couple times so we figured the locals know a good thing and we were right! I wasn't going to eat here because of the reviews but my hubby said ignore them and we were glad we did! We would go back. Better th chain restaurant wraps!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“a good, solid family restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had a very nice meal at Demetre's last Saturday. It was past the theatre season, so it wasn't crowded. We were just passing though, and we stopped because we saw the relatively full parking lot. The food was better than a chain family restaurant like Denny's or (dare I say it) Swiss Chalet. Our kids enjoyed their kid's menu choices, and my wife and I enjoyed pasta and fish and chips. Decor was cosy, with more character than one of the chains. The service was very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Slow service, but they were busy so a little understandable. I got fried chicken, mashed potatoes, gravy on the side, and vegetables. Fried chicken was greasy. Instant potatoes. No gravy. Overlooked veggies. My mom got the fish n chips. The fish was mushy and gross. Spend your money elsewhere!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Demetre's Family Eatery also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Demetre's Family Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Demetre's Family Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.