We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best poutine ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boomers Gourmet Fries

Boomers Gourmet Fries
26 Erie St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2M4, Canada
519-275-3147
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 111 Restaurants in Stratford
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Canadian, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Boomers Gourmet Fries is the spot to come for Hamburgers, French Freis, and of cours Poutine! We have many burger and poutine choices for you to choose from. We have chosen canola oil to prepare our products. Canola oil is cholesterol free and low in saturated fats. Our potatoes are fresh cut daily. Our fish portioned and lightly dipped.We prepare all of our gourmet toppings, tartar sauce, vinaigrette, coleslaw, chilis, salsa & gravy. The ingredients used in our products are purchased from local farmers and bakers in our community.If you have any comments, suggestions or don't see something you would like to let us know!
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best poutine ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The goat cheese poutine was incred! Fully recommend a visit here... No quebec style, but very very tasty. Also featured on the food network this will not disappoint.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    51
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fries fresh & hot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Fries fresh & hot is what this informal place is all about. There's a rush at lunch, and each order is custom prepared, so you've got to be patient. We wanted fish with our chips, but they were out of fish—unbelievable but true. The portions are generous and the calorie count is high.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not Authentic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I tried the standard poutine, and if you've had real Quebequois poutine, this place is not for you.
The fries were fresh but non-descript. The gravy was nice and thick but it all coagulated on the bottom, so you had fries at the top with little gravy in the middle with non and swimming in it at the bottom. The biggest disappointment were the cheese curds. They were not the same that you get in Quebec or Eastern Ontario. The curds make the dish and they fell short.

Good things about this place:
Very affordable priced
Absolutely friendly service
Quick kitchen to table time.
Note: CASH only.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The Bomb Diggity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Dannie was cool as a cucumber under a heavy lunch rush. Fast, accurate and uber friendly. The food was hot fast and savoury. Do not make the mistake of passing this up when you are visiting Stratford. From the Green Earth team, Thank-You!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great fries and burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The staff were welcoming and friendly, and the food was great. We tried three different burger options--all were delicious. When you have a craving, this is the spot to satisfy it!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boomers Gourmet Fries also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 
Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Boomers Gourmet Fries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boomers Gourmet Fries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.