We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy! But definitely not healthy...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boomers Gourmet Fries

Boomers Gourmet Fries
26 Erie St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2M4, Canada
519-275-3147
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 114 Restaurants in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: American, Fast Food, Hamburgers, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Boomers Gourmet Fries is the spot to come for Hamburgers, French Freis, and of cours Poutine! We have many burger and poutine choices for you to choose from. We have chosen canola oil to prepare our products. Canola oil is cholesterol free and low in saturated fats. Our potatoes are fresh cut daily. Our fish portioned and lightly dipped.We prepare all of our gourmet toppings, tartar sauce, vinaigrette, coleslaw, chilis, salsa & gravy. The ingredients used in our products are purchased from local farmers and bakers in our community.If you have any comments, suggestions or don't see something you would like to let us know!
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yummy! But definitely not healthy...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I stopped at Boomer's for a quick dinner the first night we arrived in Stratford since we did not have a lot of time before our 8:00 curtain at the theater. We'd read that this was a famous place to visit in Stratford and it did not disappoint. Tons of options for poutine (our first introduction to this treat) and other options as well. Everything is made fresh when you order so the quality was good. I don't think there is anything healthy about fries covered in cheese and gravy, so you probably shouldn't eat here all the time, but it certainly was delicious. The service is not as fast as a traditional "fast food" restaurant since they do make things once you order, but it was quick enough to get us in and out before the show. There is limited seating inside and a few benches outside.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    57
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great place for fries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Delicious food, super-friendly and helpful staff. The owner,Sue added a lot of fun to the experience

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London ON.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I dream of poutine....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you love poutine, and aren't shy about trying new varieties, this is your kind of place! Ours consisted of yuumy fries, creamy goat cheese, and basil oil (more basil than oil)....delicious! The gravy was flavorful, but suble enough to let the other ingredients shine through....mmm, mmm, good!! For our next visit, I'm still trying to decide between the Cosmopolitan or the Poutini Martini....
We were introduced to Boomers on an episode of "You Gotta Eat Here!", and yes, we've gotta eat there again! Oh, and maybe try a burger, too.
It's a funky little place, little being the operative word...time your visit accordingly, because it only seats about a dozen people.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We drove two hours to get here since we heard rave reviews. My husband has the hunka hunka burning love burger and regular poutine. He liked both but thought the burger was way too small for the price. So that was a bit disappointing. The jalepeno chutney is delicious. I had the two cheese poutine. It was good but lacked alot more gravy. The owner wasnt there the time so I'm wondering if things would have been alot better has she prepared everything. Over all opinion is ok not great but worth a try maybe when the owner is there.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Something 4 everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

If you don't like fries don't go. This place takes the classic fries to all the next levels. If you think you've had your favorite try something different the next time. Sue thanks for the time to talk to me. You scared the hell out of me and what to expect.
Your fellow YGEH buddy
Paul

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boomers Gourmet Fries also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 
Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Boomers Gourmet Fries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boomers Gourmet Fries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.