We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Festival is back on track!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stratford Festival

Stratford Festival
55 Queen Street, Stratford, Ontario N5A 4M9 , Canada
+1 800-567-1600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Stratford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stratford Festival, North America's largest repertory theatre festival, features plays by Shakespeare and other top playwrights each season in Stratford, Ontario, Canada.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The Festival is back on track!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was a supporting member of the Festival for 18 years until Des McAnuff became the Artistic Director 4 years ago. The quality of everything fell badly and fast. I stopped attending. Antoni Cimolino is now at the head and judging by the 5 shows I saw this season, the old magic is back. The shows are spectacular, the actors and house staff all seem to be having so much fun. This is a great way to see Broadway caliber theatre without paying Broadway prices.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    850
    110
    27
    12
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ancaster, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best season in years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

What a wonderful season. We saw 7 plays, several of which were at the Festival Theatre. Fiddler on the Roof was my favourite play this year - truly a wonderful production with unforgettable acting. There is nothing like Stratford.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender Island, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic Productions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We saw two theatre productions, and both were fabulous. They were "Romeo and Juliet" and "Tommy". We will return to Stratford the next time we are in southern Ontario.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Performance of Shakespeare the Merchant of Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Managed to avoid a student performance and the few students that were there actually seemed interested in the play and understood theatre etiquette (and we were not seated near them) so for us it was a great performance experienced without distractions.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fiddler on the Roof”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The play was very enjoyable, but...

I am probably one of the first theatre-goers to be bothered by distractions such as cell phone use, texting, etc., but I feel what happened to me during this performance was unfair.

My husband and I both loved the movie Fiddler on the Roof and during 31 years of marriage he would jokingly sing the lyrics to, "Do you love me?" We could wait to see it live.

During the performance last week, I had a slight tickle in my throat that I was sure a sip of water would correct before my favorite scene and felt my coughing might bother someone. We were in aisle seats in the back row next to the exit so I thought I would discreetly get a quick sip of water and return to enjoy our song. I got my water and was stopped by staff, stating I needed to wait until a light came on indicating when I could return. I understood, thinking that would not be too long. The staff person was overly patronizing and condescending, but I tried to be cooperative. Suddenly, she said, "Ooops, we missed the light. It came on, but now it is off again, so now you will have to wait until it comes on again". I was upset that I didn't know what this light looked like, it was her mistake, not mine, but she made me wait until the next act and I missed my favorite part of the story! I was FURIOUS after spending the cost of our tickets, both of us taking 2 days off work and driving 240 miles round trip and paying for a hotel. The woman was ridiculously patronizing and unsympathetic to having missed HER cue to allow me in. My husband was just as disappointed as I, stating he couldn't enjoy it, not knowing what happened to me.

We will never go back to Stratford again due to this experience. It was so very unfair.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stratford Festival also viewed

 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Stratford Festival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stratford Festival, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.