We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three-quarters empty, still lousy service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crabby Joe's Tap & Grill - CLOSED

Crabby Joe's Tap & Grill
988 Ontario St., Stratford, Ontario N5A 6Z3, Canada
+1 519-271-2250
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $17
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Stratford, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Three-quarters empty, still lousy service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The restaurant was three-quarters empty, and the serving staff seemed to have quit early. We waited fifteen minutes for our drink order to be taken while the server flirted with guys sitting at the bar drinking ten Dollar pitchers of beer and wearing their baseball hats backwards. Food was adequate, but a requested refill on my drink went unserved for fifteen minutes. When I did manage to catch the server's attention, she slammed down my drink on the table and then disappeared for the rest of the evening. Another server eventually brought the bill. My first and last visit was concluded.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    7
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“as low of a review as it can go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Waited forever to have someone come over to take our order. When my husband wanted another beer, server kept forgetting he had asked for one. When she brought it over, she slammed it loudly down onto the table. It's past the dinner rush hour. A couple of tables around, doesn't appear overly busy. I used to work as a server, I don't think I would have ever slammed down a drink on a table.

We normally tip quite well, it won't be happening tonight.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Not Sure how to review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were in Stratford for an Baseball tournament. Went to Crabby Joes as a team - just as another team showed up at the same time. So the place was slammed with almost 90 people walking in at the same time. Food and drinks took a long time but cant blame them. The staff kept a smile on their face and that was much appreciated.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney, Michigan
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hey, it's Crabby Joe's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I'm not a huge fan of Crabby Joe's; but, while in Stratford on a business trip our guide suggested we try Crabby Joe's for lunch, nothing special but a good meal at a reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Branch, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Servers were very friendly and attentive. The food was delicious. We had a mix of steak and fish and chips at the table, and everything was great.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crabby Joe's Tap & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crabby Joe's Tap & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.