We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keystone Alley Cafe

Keystone Alley Cafe
34 Brunswick St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3L8, Canada
(519) 271-5645
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 114 Restaurants in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“fabulous find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

first time there and loved it. Service was excellent. Nice décor.
Fries were just the way I liked them. Spring rolls and Caesar were delicious....my partner loved his raspberry chocolate cake.We will definitely return

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    36
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pelham, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wasn't impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We visited here while attending a few days of the Shakespeare festival. We had reservations so was seated immediately. The menu isn't extensive. The service was civil at best definitely not warm. We dined on lobster bisque and the mustard glazed pork. My husband liked the lobster bisque. The pork was tender and with the mustard sauce very flavorful. The side of vegetables were perfectly cooked. The goat cheese potato brulee had a good texture but severely bland. The thing that disappointed us most was the mismatched vibe if you will. The pricing and snooty service was upscale dining. However they served us water out of a bright yellow or green PLASTIC pitcher. Also the decor: some flowers were displayed in little metal bins that looked like they came from the dollar store. The salt and pepper grinders were plastic. The bathrooms were also a contridiction. One side looked pretty and updated then the stalls look like they were taken from a gas station. Some of the ceiling tiles were brown with water stains. My husband said the urinal plumbing was rusty and corroded. Maybe I'm just being picky. But when you charge almost $30 per plate and advertise fine dining, don't pretend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“World Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I moved to Stratford 6 months ago. The local Taoist Tai Chi club recommended Keystone Alley as one of the best restaurants in the area. When my husband's world travelling brother and sister-in-law came to visit from San Francisco we decided to try Keystone Alley. We all were thoroughly delighted with our food selections. Main courses included the famed Perth County pork tenderloin, calf's liver, curried duck and sea scallops. Good portions, delicious seasonings served nicely with well paired starch, veg and sauce. We were well sated and very well served and attended to. Absolutely spot on. Nice job!!! And then we moved on to theatre and a preview performance of the rock opera Tommy just around the corner at the Avon Theatre. Thank you for helping to demonstrate that our 'home' town is truly world class.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Love the Alley Veggie Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I met with friends in Stratford. We had decided to return to Keystone Alley Cafe. The food was very good. We ordered from the luncheon features. I had the lentil, tomato, orange soup and the deli sandwich. All was delicious. My husband, who is a vegetarian, was easily accommodated with a special sandwich from the chef which was very tasty and filling. The service was excellent. We were lucky to arrive at 11:30 and have a chance to purchase their veggie chips. They are usually bought up quickly they are so good!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent dining at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just across from the Avon theatre is this wonderful restaurant - with interesting food at very reasonable prices. (Off season, a three course prix fix for $32). We had an excellent Arctic char and a very good pork loin last night; we're told by friends that the steaks are also first rate. Everything is homemade, they say, and we believe it. While the "room" itself isn't particularly elegant, the food and excellent service makes up for it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keystone Alley Cafe also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Keystone Alley Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keystone Alley Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.