We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's decidedly fine.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosecourt Motel

Rosecourt Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rosecourt Motel to your Saves list
Rosecourt Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   599 Erie Street, Stratford, Ontario, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Stratford
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's decidedly fine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

It's hard to review a place like this. It's a 1 to 1.5 star motel, so it's hard to be effusive about it, but as motels at this level go, it's pretty good.

We were only in Stratford for one night, so it just didn't seem worth spending on a nicer hotel. And I'm not into B&Bs. When I am looking for a cheap motel, I have basically one criteria: it should be clean and cockroach free. This place succeeded on that level. Not a single pest in sight. Girl commented that the mattress was uncomfortable, but it didn't bother me. The blanket was scratchy and kind too small for the bed, but it was okay. The shower was actually very nice and had good pressure. The room had a fridge and microwave. There were full ice cube trays in the freezer, which I guess replaces the need for an ice machine, which there wasn't. There weren't cups in the room, which was a little annoying, but they gave me some when I went to the office.

A quick note. The website claims that the motel is walking distance to the town center. You CAN walk; I did, but it's a really long walk. Over a mile, and it's not a particularly nice walk. You certainly wouldn't want to do it late after a show.

If I were doing this trip over again, I would stay here again. But you just shouldn't expect anything remotely luxurious.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    4
    3
    9
See reviews for
4
8
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

amazing service
very clean rooms
i am very picky about where i sleep and use the shower but this motel made sure i felt home
it was very clean and tidy
i would stay here again if i was to visit stratford and would surely recommend it to family and friends

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

i really liked the room's( mine and my friends) which included about 5 rooms. Both double and single beds. The were nice friendly people working which helped us with directions and the setting was nice and peaceful. If I was to go back to Stratford i would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

We had no complaints.
We never expected a five star hotel, overall it was good, spacious rooms, well located,
service was good. Rooms have a TV, fridge and microwave and include simple breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

This motel states on their wesite that all 20 of their rooms are smoke free. We arrived at our room at 11 pm in the evening after attending a performance at the Stratford Theater and went to bed as we had an early start the next morning. We stayed in bed 30 minutes, and headed back home which is a 3.5 hour drive. The room reeked so badly of smoke, that we were not able to remain in the room. This condition can be very dangerous to a person such as myself, who has allergies. I can't believe that this motel room stunk as bad as it did.

We plan to draw this false advertising situation to the attention of the Consumer Protection of Ontario, and any other body that governs or rates motels in Ontario.

We booked this room through the Stratford Theatre website, so we mistakingly thought it would be a quality motel. Boy, were we wrong.

  • Liked — location to the theatre
  • Disliked — The room stunk of cigarette smoke, and it was supposed to be smoke free.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosecourt Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosecourt Motel

Address: 599 Erie Street, Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rosecourt Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rosecourt Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosecourt Motel Stratford, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosecourt Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.