We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly "a home from home"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avery House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avery House B&B
Save
You added Avery House B&B to your Saves list
330 Ontario St., Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 92 Stratford B&B and Inns
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Truly "a home from home"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Returning to Stratford after several years we relied on the Internet to select a B& B. Avery House Is centrally located, close to all three theatres, but well set back from the road providing a quiet retreat. Photographs barely do justice to this lovely modernized historic home. What makes it so very special, however, is the delightful atmosphere created by the owners, Amanda and John.
Our three night stay had all the warmth of visiting family or old friends with every wish anticipated. Particularly memorable were the lingering conversations over delicious breakfasts lovingly made by John. We certainly hope to return and will confidently recommend Avery House to anyone planning a visit to Stratford.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Poppy Room, which was very comfortable, charming and quiet but is the smallest room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averyhouse, Owner at Avery House B&B, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear M & D,

Thank you for visiting Avery House, and for being such wonderful, gracious guests. Your contributions to the breakfast conversations were much appreciated, by both of us, as well as by the other guests. So pleased that you liked both the house and the food!

Please come back and visit us again, we'd love to see you. And thanks for the lovely review here.

J&A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
87
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend at the Avery House in Stratford. The room was beautifully decorated, very clean and very comfortable. John and Amanda are wonderful hosts -- very helpful and attentive to our needs -- and John is a seasoned cook. Breakfasts were something to linger over. They included several gluten-free items, which was a nice treat, considering I often cannot eat muffins and breads at B&Bs. We will definitely stay at Avery House again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averyhouse, Owner at Avery House B&B, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear A&E,

Thanks so much for visiting us at Avery House! It was great hearing about your summer plans, and we appreciated all that you added to the breakfast conversation. We are so pleased that you found your room clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated!

We loved the "seasoned cook" comment. Since Amanda is also GF, we have a several really well-proven recipes that guests seem to enjoy. Let us know how the GF banana bread recipe works for you. Or, come back and visit us again and we'll make it for you.

Many thanks for the great review here. Hope to see you both again soon.

J&A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

John and Amanda are excellent hosts. The Key West Suite is airy and bright, and everything is spotlessly clean. John's breakfasts are delicious. John and Amanda are informed theatergoers, as well a being extremely gracious hosts. Everything was lovely, and when the weather didn't cooperate, there were large and sturdy umbrellas at the ready.

Room Tip: The Key West Suite was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averyhouse, Owner at Avery House B&B, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear C & N,

Thank you so much for visiting Avery House. We found the breakfast conversations with you extremely interesting and thought-provoking, especially your observations on the different plays, and the directors' interpretations. We're so pleased that you enjoyed both the breakfasts and the rooms. And... the umbrellas!

Many thanks for the wonderful review here. Hope that you will come back and visit with us again.

J&A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was our second time at Avery House, the first under the new ownership of John and Amanda. As before, it's a beautiful place to stay, and the rooms are nicely appointed and spotlessly clean. John and Amanda are great innkeepers, and John's breakfasts are reaching new heights: we particularly admired his home-smoked salmon-topped quiches. They also helpfully accommodated our dietary restrictions and other special requests, even looking after us on a day when our train out of town was late in coming and we were caught in a downpour.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averyhouse, Owner at Avery House B&B, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hi A&J,

Thanks for coming to visit us; it was our pleasure to host you both on your special weekend. Glad you enjoyed the food - quality and quantity! The pic of you both on the front patio was a big hit on our Facebook page. However, sorry that the weather didn't cooperate, and that your last day ended up so soggy.

Come back and see us again next year!

J&A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have stayed at Avery House on several occasions and are thrilled to report that the new owners, John and Amanda, are meeting the high bar established by Judy and Sue.The breakfasts prepared by John are scrumptious and filling! Great location to walk to all four theatres, tastefully decorated rooms, comfortable , comfortable beds and very helpful hosts. It doesn't get better than Avery House!

Ruth and Don

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averyhouse, Owner at Avery House B&B, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thanks Ruth!

Was great to meet you and D, and are looking forward to your next visit in just a few days. Appreciate the kind words here. We'll be sure to keep you both comfortable (in the bed) and full (at the breakfast table).

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I last reviewed Avery House after a stay in the fall of 2010 - commenting on the high level of service from the two hosts, Sue and Judy, and noting the charm and comfort of their lovely B&B,

This May my husband and I made a return trip and once again Avery House has proven to be an ideal place to stay in Stratford. Sue and Judy are no longer the owners, but John and Amanda are carrying on the traditions that made Avery one of our all-time favourite B&B's (US, Canada and UK included).

On our first stay we loved the Key West room in the main house. This time my husband and I opted for the slightly higher-priced carriage house, a spacious and airy second-floor room 'out back'. The bed is the same comfortable King with super-soft and wonderful linens, the shower just right, the sitting area with fireplace just as charming as the Key West room. The two big bonus points for the carriage house are the kitchenette and the outdoor deck space. We made good use of both and my husband says that we MUST book the carriage house room next time.

Two additional points:
1.there is a newly renovated, absolutely beautiful and very spacious main floor guest room in the house. Perfect if you want to avoid stairs. I believe there is even direct access to the back deck from this room. John and Amanda seem to have found a way to 'channel' the impeccable taste of the former owners, while still putting their own stamp on the new room's decor.
2.the breakfasts are every bit as good...perhaps better (though it seems a tad 'disloyal' to say so!) It's a set menu with several courses, and John is happy to accommodate individual tastes and allergy issues. Try the Avery House blend of tea, served in a traditional Tetsubin pot. That's an example of the kind of attention to detail that keeps us, and many others, returning to Avery House year after year.

From my point of view, parking and location with respect to theatres, restaurants, shopping and river walks, couldn't be better. Aside from one quick car trip to pick up a take-away Indian meal, and one when I was feeling particularly lazy and didn't want to walk to the restaurant, we walked everywhere from Avery House.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I didn't have a problem with street noise when we stayed in the Key West Room, however my husban...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averyhouse, Owner at Avery House B&B, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi L&D,

First, thanks for visiting with us at Avery House. It was great to have you both here. We're so pleased you liked The Loft, and the other various amenities! We take it as a huge complement that you feel like we are keeping up the high standards that Judy and Sue set. That is a high bar! We are also happy with the way the Cocoa Beach Suite (the first floor room you mentioned) turned out. Several guests have jotted it down for their next visit.

Second, thank you so much for the thoughtful and detailed review! You clearly put a lot of thought and time into writing it, and we're sure it will help other guests - new or loyal - get a better understanding of the experience here. We really appreciate it!

Look forward to seeing you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Owners John and Amanda couldn't have been more accommodating. They made dinner reservations for us and asked if we had any dietary requests. The B and B is beautiful, clean and so comfortable. We were warmly welcomed and would definitely stay with them again when we return. Breakfast was outstanding! The Avery House is a perfect location to everything. My husband and I have stayed at numerous B and B's across North America and Avery House is top notch. I highly recommend it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
averyhouse, Owner at Avery House B&B, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Lori,

Thanks so much for visiting us Avery House. Glad that the dinner suggestions worked out well, and that your entire group had a great time. Let me know how the recipes work out for you. Look forward to seeing you and your friends on your next visit to Stratford. And, thanks for the nice review.

J&A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avery House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avery House B&B

Address: 330 Ontario St., Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Stratford. Walking distance to all theatres, shops and restaurants. Three suites and two rooms - all king beds (convert to two twins in some cases). All rooms have en suite bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avery House B&B Stratford, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avery House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.