We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best honeymoon ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avery House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avery House B&B
Save
You added Avery House B&B to your Saves list
330 Ontario St., Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 90 Stratford B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best honeymoon ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I spent out honeymoon at the Avery House, and we wouldn't trade those memories for anything. The house is beautifully appointed and decorated, and spotless. The breakfasts are great, and there's always granola on hand if you're not up to the richer options. When Judy and Sue found out we were just married, they upgraded us to their most glamorous suite and lent us a lovely vase for my bouquet. When I came down with the flu, they appeared with toast and ginger ale. They treat their guests like family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
87
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My wife and I have been going to the Stratford Festival for many years with a group of friends, and we are so glad to have found Avery House. Beautiful, comfortable bedrooms; fabulous breakfasts that set you up for the day; easy walks to all the theaters and restaurants. Plus Judy & Sue are the consummate hosts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A group of us take over the 5 bedrooms in the main house. This allows us to sit up late at night talking about the shows we saw, drinking wine and eating cheese we've stashed in the house fridge, and not feel at all guilty about the noise. Sue's breakfasts are a multi course event (yogurt and fruit, and then various hot things like frittata, croissants, scrambled eggs, etc.). Judy runs the logistics wonderfully; always responsive to reservations and keeping that wifi going!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Avery House, and it was spectacular. We stayed in the Loft, which was comfortable in every way- beautifully decorated, top-quality linens, quiet, private, and completely equipped with everything we could think of. We got to peek at some of the other rooms, and they were also decorated and arranged in the same great manner. The food is simply superb-- on most days we had such a big breakfast we skipped lunch and just had dinner in town before seeing a show. The owners, Judy and Sue, never let us leave for the day without making sure we had what we needed. They were always ready with recommendations for restaurants, shops, and other things we wanted to see and do. When it was time to see a show, Avery is not more than a 10 minute walk, if that, from any of the Stratford Theatres. We parked the car when we arrived and didn't think of using it once since everything is such an easy walk from there. If you stay anywhere else, you'll be cheating yourself out of something really extraordinary. And kudos to the other guests who all added to the great time we had. Chatting at breakfast was wonderful, comparing notes about plays or even talking about how much fun it is to sit at the river's edge and read a book-- the conversation was excellent. This was our first visit, but will not be our last!

Room Tip: The pictures on their web site are really accurate. You can be completely confident that the room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unknown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Avery House is a gem: conveniently located, absolutely immaculate, well-appointed, and run by the thoroughly lovely Judy and Sue. I can't imagine staying elsewhere in Stratford again.

Room Tip: In addition to being spacious, quiet, private, and bright, The Loft boasts a comfortable kitchenette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

First time to Stratford and Avery House made the experience even more memorable. We stayed in the the Loft Room. Beautifully decorated and had amenities (sink, mini-fridge, microwave, dishes, cutlery). We could sit on our private deck and enjoy our wine and cheese. Breakfast was delicious and filling! Enjoyed meeting and chatting with the other guests over fresh croissants and quiche. The location is perfect too - in walking distance to the performances, river, and shops. Thanks so much Judy and Sue!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Catharines, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Judy and Sue were very kind, welcoming, and accommodating! The breakfasts were better than any restaurant and the room we stayed in (Poppy Room) was clean and comfy. Just a 5 minute walk to downtown Stratford. We would definetely come back - without a doubt!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avery House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avery House B&B

Address: 330 Ontario St., Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Stratford. Walking distance to all theatres, shops and restaurants. Three suites and two rooms - all king beds (convert to two twins in some cases). All rooms have en suite bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avery House B&B Stratford, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avery House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.