We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel of real character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercer Hall Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mercer Hall Inn to your Saves list
Mercer Hall Inn
108 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
391 helpful votes 391 helpful votes
“A hotel of real character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2006

If you are looking for a spacious, clean, well-appointed room in the centre of town, look no further. We had a few minor quibbles: long-distance calls cannot be made direct from your room; drawer-space is inadequate for those with two weeks' baggage, and room supplies (tea-bags, cream, shampoo etc) were not replenished automatically - you have to ask. But the welcome is friendly, the breakfasts generous and the room had many features (CD's, a library of books, good coffee-maker, iron plus board) typical of many places at twice the price. We really enjoyed our stay there, and would go back.

  • Liked — The warm wecome
  • Disliked — Lack of drawer space
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    53
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
145
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2006

Wonderful people and wonderful rooms and wonderful location. Caveat- the city view rooms are along an in-town 2 lane highway with many trucks and motorcycles; it is quite a climb with bags from parking lot to rooms - so park in front first if you can. However, that being said, it's most comfortable and charming; close to all the Theaters and fine dining (don't miss the Church restaurant if you can afford it). Staff are friendly and helpful indeed.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, IN
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2005

We loved this unique inn! It was wonderful to stay at a place with so much character and not another cookie-cutter hotel. The room was large and beautiful, I don't think the website pictures do it justice. The bistro underneath the rooms was funky and fun (Although I didn't think the service there was great).

The inn keeper was so much help and was full of great suggestions. She even made us dinner reservations for a half hour after we arrived in Stratford.

One thing I found interesting about this inn is that there was NOBODY working at the inn after around 9:00 PM. We were going to request some glasses and a bottle opener in the evening but could not find a single staff person. We weren't even sure where to call if there had been something really wrong. But this isn't a complaint, just an observation. I like it that they are trusting, it's a little different than the attitude I find in the US.

Also, if you plan on attending plays (which, of course you are) and are between 19 and 29 you can get a "play-on" card. This allows you to see plays for $20 Canadian, which is a HUGE discount. You are somewhat limited on what plays you can see and you can't purchase them more than two weeks in advance. My husband and I were able to see both plays we wanted. We have one more year we can take advantage of this and we plan to!

We loved Stratford, we felt so rejuvenated when we left. We loved this inn and it's location. We would definitely want to stay here if we returned.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2005

We won't stay anywhere else in Stratford! The beds are the most comfortable in town, the rooms are beautifully designed with great amenities. The Tango Coffee Bistro downstairs has the BEST croissants and other pastries that you can pick from for your included breakfast. Can't beat the location either, right in the heart of town.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2005

We have been a few times to the Mercer Hall. Awesome touches like local artist works, a Canadian library and CD library, unique modern boutique rooms that make you feel at home.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercer Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hall Inn

Address: 108 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stratford's 14 room unique boutique Inn is located in the heart of downtown. All rates include parking and wireless internet access. Dining areas include European restaurant Mercer Hall and Fellini's Italian/Mediterranean open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Mercer Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hall Hotel Stratford
Mercer Hall Stratford
Mercer Hall Inn Stratford, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercer Hall Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.