We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Rectory to your Saves list
The Old Rectory
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   218 Ontario St | Ontario, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save10%Celebrate The Bard
Ranked #5 of 92 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Royal Oak, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We recently stayed at The Old Rectory and loved every moment of our stay. Peaceful and beautiful surroundings, friendly hosts, and a fantastic breakfast. We especially loved the large porch overlooking the garden. We will be sure to return!
Beth

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
57
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

This B&B certainly has to be the most professionally family run accommodation of its type that I've ever had the pleasure to stay in. With the husband and wife team being chefs, the food is second to none. The breakfast is so fresh even the breads and jams are made on site.
If you get a chance, book the evening meal, you will be in for the treat of your lives.
The accommodation is awesome with each room has it's own theme, bathtub in one of the rooms is out of this world.
Some of the rooms have private balconies, there is also the coach rooms out the back, for that wee bit of extra privacy. This is a beautiful well cared for home, and if your thinking of staying in Stratford - don't stay anywhere else, close to all amenities / Theatres / restaurants / Shops etc. You will not be disappointed. Looking forward to my next stay there in June.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We visited Stratford this Fall after an absence of several years and were delighted to discover the Old Rectory for the first time. The location is very convenient to the various theaters and the accomodations could not have been better. We had a lovely, comfortable room on the ground floor. Kim and Kevin were warm and gracioust hosts who provided excellent advice on the theater and other places in Stratford. They also served the best food we had in Stratford! Breakfasts were excellent and different on each of our 4 mornings at the Old Rectory, always accompanied by some freshly baked treat. In addition, they served dinner one evening which was outstanding. The Old Rectory is definitely our preferred place to stay on our next visit to Stratford.
Natalie and Josh Dranoff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have been staying at the Old Rectory for over 10 years. Kim and Kevin are wonderful hosts
and are always so gracious and accomodating. We reserve a whole year ahead to make sure we can stay at our favourite B&B. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious and we linger over coffee with our friends in the comfortable sunroom and read the day's papers that are provided.
I would recommend this place to everyone for a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We always choose the room at the back of the house which opens onto a deck that overlooks the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We could not have chosen a better place than The Old Rectory to spend our anniversary weekend. Its charm and warmth, the hospitality of its owners, not to mention their outstanding culinary talents, turned our visit into a real treat. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We usually spend a weekend together with our best friends to celebrate our anniversaries.
This year being our 50th. we decided to go to Stratford. We all love older homes and antiques.
We studied all the B&B's in the area and decided upon The Old Rectory, We were not disappointed with a thing, other then we had to go home. The home is so beautiful,with many unique antiques displayed.The gardens so relaxing, the food delectable, the location was great as we were able to walk everywhere and enjoy the town. The hospitality Kevin & Kim showed was tops. Many thanks for the beautiful gifts left on our night table, they were fantastic.
We will definitely stay with them the next time we go to Stratford and have told all our friends.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Kevin & Kim are most gracious host, which extended warm hospitality. We stayed at the Old Rectory upon recommendation of a old friend which has stayed many times prior. I was not disappointed, nor was my skeptical 79 year old Mother. This was my first visit to both Stratford and The Old Rectory. Kevin did a terrific job with breakfast and made a wonderful dinner recommendation in town. This inn is top notch!

Room Tip: The individual suites were private and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: 218 Ontario St | Ontario, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We both share a passion for good wholesome food. Kevin has worked previously for 15 years in some of the U.K.'s and Irelands finest Country Inns and Restaurants before moving to Stratford in 1993. Kim is a native of Stratford and has traveled extensively on a Private Yacht catering to crew and invited guests. Both of us now enjoy life together in the great community of Stratford with our son Conor among family and friends. Together we hope to nourish your body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Stratford, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rectory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.