We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience at Foster's” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Foster's Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foster's Inn
Save
You added Foster's Inn to your Saves list
111 Downie Street, Stratford, Ontario N5A 1X2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Stratford
Marco Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Bad Experience at Foster's”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We just had a very poor and overpriced meal at Foster's. The "Signature Steak" was tough and tasteless. So was the loin pork chop. If we had the same two dinners at our hotel the meals would have been much tastier, and about $20 less expensive. We have been going to Stratford for more than 20 years, and this meal was one of the worst.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    1
    6
    2
See reviews for
5
18
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We ate at Foster's Inn in August 2013 and we were disappointed not only with the service but also the response of the manager. The food was fantastic, but our server not only dripped 2 drinks on one of our party, but appropriate condiments were not offered. Our bottle of white wine was room temperature (and the server wanted to pour a full glass of warm white wine in our glasses even though we said the wine was far from cold; we had to ask for an ice cooler), the server failed to offer wine to all those having wine at the table ( she poured wine in one empty glass and failed to pour any for the other guest), and bread was not offered to our table when all surrounding tables had bread. The server was inefficient and clearly did not match the quality of food.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FostersInn, Owner at Foster's Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hello, I am troubled to see your review on Foster's Inn. I do appreciate that you emailed us with your concerns on August 2nd. Our manger responded to your concerns by email unfortunately this wasn't satisfactory. I am glad you enjoyed the food at Foster's. We are very proud of our restaurant and are always striving to provide a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Foster's is a great place to stay because of the rooms and the location, and it has the best breakfast in Stratford. We enjoyed the easy walk to the Avon Theatre, and we also walked to the other theaters, including a pleasant walk along the Avon River to the Festival.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at foster's and agreed that after travelling together for 20 years - doing both high end and low-end trips, this was our worst pick of a hotel, ever . For over $200.00, we had an uninteresting square room, a very hard bed, uncomfortable pillows and couldn't sleep until all the noise from the bar downstairs died after 2:00 am. It was indeed close to the theatre, and quite clean, but I'm sure that any of the other options within walking distance would have to be better - certainly I can't imagine anything worse for that kind of money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Foster's Inn was a wonderful hotel to stay at and we are happy that we chose it. The food was fantastic and the staff were all very informative, friendly, and available if we needed them. Having a restaurant right at the Inn was very convenient and yummy for both dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Foster's Inn review outline

After having lunch here last summer, I decided to pick the Inn for one night's accommodation while visiting Stratford again this year. Staying in Room 303, I was very happy with the room provided. I personally find that staying in a renovated older building is much more interesting than staying in a large new hotel. This suite has a large sitting area with a very large window, a well appointed sleeping area, and a large bathroom with shower. If more linen was required, I was offered to help myself to extra in a hallway wardrobe, but there was ample provided. The accessories, such as wall hangings, carved headboard, and antique wardrobe add to the ambience, as do the very high ceiling, perhaps 12 feet or higher.
I had dinner downstairs, a very good 7 oz tenderloin, and for dessert, a Lemon Trifle, which was actually more curd, and custard, with blackberries, raspberries, peanut brittle, and a cookie. The dessert was so good, if I had been at home, I would have licked the bowl!
The next morning, I enjoyed the breakfast special of the day...French toast, which was made with homemade bread, including a layer of cheese, baked apple slices and syrup. And all at the special price of $5.00.
All in all, a great stay, and definitely on my return list!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days with 5 other colleagues and found this place to be very "homey". The staff were very hospitable and Craig, the owner, was fantastic! We were on the second floor, which can be loud from the music below but as soon as we let the staff know, they responded immediately. We ran out of hot water the first day but didn't have problems any day after that. The location is fantastic although there is no overnight parking right there- but it isn't far away. We also ate at the restaurant and were pleasantly surprised. Everyone's meals were excellent and the ambiance was lovely. Rooms were clean, comfortable and large. Every room had a fridge which was nice for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foster's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foster's Inn

Address: 111 Downie Street, Stratford, Ontario N5A 1X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foster's Inn is Stratford's original Boutique Inn. Located just two doors from The Avon Theater in the towns core, Foster's Inn is a complete package. Nine well appointed GuestRooms, a 60 seat Restaurant with a warm & friendly 44-seat lounge and a lovely Patio assures your stay will be as comfortable as it is memorable. Friendly and familiar staff will look after your every need. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Foster`s Hotel Stratford
Fosters Hotel Stratford
Foster's Inn Stratford, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foster's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.