We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monforte on Wellington

Monforte on Wellington
80 Wellington Street, Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 114 Restaurants in Stratford
Cuisines: Organic, Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ontario
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I agree with other reviewers, this is a great place to eat. We happened to be driving through Stratford and dropped by as we had heard that they had great grilled cheese sandwiches. They do! Yum!
There is a cute courtyard for outdoor seating behind the restaurant. The staff was very friendly and provided excellent service. Try the icecream. It is sooooo creamy. We were there for lunch but do want to go back sometime for dinner. We purchased some cheese to take home and enjoyed it.
This is quite a neat little place and we wish the owners well as there is lots of competition in Stratford for dining dollars.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    37
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
464 reviews 464 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
352 helpful votes 352 helpful votes
“Fine pre-theatre lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We know Monforte from the cheese stand it has had at Toronto's St Lawrence Market for a number of years. Two days ago we were in their restaurant for the first time. Our lunches, two "small plates" each, were very good, and we returned for dessert after seeing Othello at the nearby Avon Theatre. My meal consisted of butternut squash soup and grilled sheep cheese with toast and chutney; my wife had a salad and pasta with sauce; we both had buffalo milk ice cream with cookies. The total cost was around $40. We'll definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had lunch here recently before a matinee, and were blown away by the quality of the food in this casual, somewhat quirky cafe. Small plates at $5 each are an amazing value, and superior to what you can find at tapas bars for more than double the price.

We had a silky smooth, flavourful squash soup, a super fresh salad of mixed greens with a remarkable sorrel dressing, tourtiere with flaky pastry, and a small plate of pasta putanesca, all beautifully prepared. It was as if Jamie Oliver was in the kitchen!

A place to return to - this could easily become my favourite restaurant in Stratford.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We had a good time and ate well.

Started with cheeses and salami, prosciutto, tuna spread: $18

Hubby had T-bone steak, potatoes and Green beans: $27
I had: pork chops, potatoes, green beans: $16

Dessert:
Cheesecake with blueberry sauce: $7
Buffalo milk ice cream with chocolate sauce and 2 warm chocolate chip cookies: $7

To drink hubby had beer. Large bottle: $4.50
There was no pop so I had water.

Main and dessert were worth the money. Starter with cheese, etc was not.

Overall though it was a good experience. Not much in the way of options. These were the only 2 today. Unless you wanted salad or soup.

Service was excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Enjoyed lunch at Momforte with my Mother and Sister and we had a wonderful experience. Somewhat quirky which made for an interesting experience. The Artisanal Cheese Plate was a delicious presentation of three cheeses along with homemade crackers that were equally delicious. I tried the grilled cheese which was excellent and we all tried the soup of the day which was full of flavor and left us very satisfied. Wine was interesting as you are charged by the ounce rather than the glass and it is served in ceramic glassware although stemware is available. The restaurant is difficult to locate as the lettering on the sign has all but disappeared. I used my GPS as I has the address. Our server was very friendly and personable and did a great job. I hope this restaurant does well as the food was delicious and is a nice alternative to regular dining while visiting Stratford.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monforte on Wellington also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Monforte on Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monforte on Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.