We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprise find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercer Hall

Mercer Hall
104-108 Ontario Street, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H2, Canada
+1 519-271-9202
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 111 Restaurants in Stratford
Price range: $13 - $45
Cuisines: Contemporary, Eclectic, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Great food is about passion and our chefs have it in spades. Our kitchen team draws inspiration from a combination of local, seasonal items with a balance of fine products imported from Quebec and both Canadian coasts. When the delivery comes from the hands of the person who grows the vegetables, raises the pigs, milks the cow or catches the fish, you really start to appreciate the hard work that goes into making things taste really good! Mercer Hall is the perfect backdrop for any occasion featuring local craft beers on tap, Ontario wines and innovative cocktails.
Banff
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“surprise find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My son looked online for a restaurant that had some gluten free meals and he chose Mercer Hall before going to a play in Stratford. The staff were friendly and helpful (especially Emily) and the food was superb. One of the best meals that I have had and the dessert (spring something) was a fantastic surprise - delicious yet light.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    49
    16
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pricey Restaurant but enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We visited this restaurant on a Sunday evening at the recommendation of a local. The location is convenient. The menu is limited but the choices are good. Me and another member of my group ordered the duck leg which we both thoroughly enjoyed. It was tender and juicy. The other members of our party also enjoyed their meals of steak and pork. The wine list was extensive. The wait staff was attentive, knowledgeable, and friendly. Overall a very nice restaurant, but the a little pricey. For four people the tab was $250.00 (including drinks and tip).

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

During the Stratford Festival, I often travel down to this charming, if somewhat twee, town in southwestern Ontario. Needless to say, there are an abundance of places to eat, some better than others. One of my favourites is Mercer Hall.

First of all, the location at 108 Ontario St. is a five-minute walk from the Tom Patterson Theatre and mid-way between the Avon and Festival Theatres, which makes it very convenient.

Secondly, many of sections of wall have rich wooden wainscoting, while others feature comfortable banquettes. These are complimented by crisp, white table linens and little bunches of flowers, all of which add up to calm, gracious atmosphere in a town that swarms with tourists.

Thirdly, of course is the food. Having eaten at Mercer Hall Inn on several occasions, I can attest that the quality and variety of their menu is excellent.

Finally, the quality of the service can make or break any restaurant, but I have always found the staff very friendly, prompt, and courteous. I would recommend Mercer Hall Inn Restaurant to anyone who happens to be in Stratford.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

MC has a fixed price menu for dinner and it's $48 for two courses. We had the steak tartare and the smoked salmon for our first course. The steak was excellent, the salmon was quite mild and got lost in its surroundings. For seconds we had the cauliflower steak and the flank steak. Both of these were very good. They have a more varied draft beer selection than most of the local restaurants. Including tip dinner ran us $150. A. It more than I would have expected.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

A beautifully appointed restaurant serving very good food from a small but well-thought menu. My duck leg was superb, flavourful and moist but the accompanying pancakes were lukewarm at best. I didn't receive any bread (other tables did...because I was alone?) and I had to ask for my water glass to b refilled. The wine my server chose went well with the dish and dessert was homemade, light and airy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercer Hall also viewed

 
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Mercer Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercer Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.