We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Parlour Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Parlour Inn to your Saves list
The Parlour Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Wellington St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 4H3, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Parlour Historic Inn & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Nice quiet hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Granted I haven't been there in high season - I was there in mid-January, and at Easter, but it is a nice quiet hotel. Lots of dark wood/ older feel, but everything looks new and up to date. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean, everything worked including the internet, which is free. I had light breakfasts in their dining room and service was fast and friendly, the food and coffee were really good. Right in the heart of Stratford.

Room Tip: Both rooms I got were just fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    58
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
36
110
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Leading up to our little Stratford getaway weekend, my fiancee had spoken with staff from the Parlour, who were very helpful and easy to get along with. Once we arrived, the experience only improved, as we were given advice on walking routes, restaurants, etc by very knowledgeable, friendly staff members. Everyone, from the girls who delivered our body pillows to our room within moments of requesting them, to the jovial cleaning lady decked out in rabbit ears for Easter, to Lindsay (sp?) at the front desk, who made every effort to ensure our stay was exactly what we wanted, gave us the absolute best customer service I think I've ever received.

The room we stayed in (queen bed w/jetted tub) was modern, spotless, and beautiful.

I can't really say enough about the service we received at the hotel, as well as pretty much everywhere in Stratford. We'll be returning to the Parlour Inn, as they gave us absolutely no reason to look elsewhere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

My daughter organized our stay in Stratford last week for a family event. We've done the Arden Park - too institutional. This time the criteria was for a place right in town that was in very good shape. That was certainly the Parlour. Comfortable, clean, and all the little details. But, it was the staff that also impressed. The cheery lady on the front desk (and the guy whose first day it was). The waiter in the evening; the one at breakfast. Also, make sure you give the dining room a try. Great menu. Will we come back? Definitely.
Now, why only 4 stars? Because we were at Langdon Hall the next night which gets 5.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarnia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

The hotel staff like Lindsay and Loralyn welcome you by name and make you feel at home. Restaurant staff like Rob are the best anywhere. Rooms are clean and classy. Mattresses very comfortable. Safe location close to wonderful restaurants like Fosters. Best hotel in Ontario.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

In town to enjoy the superb spectacle "Jesus Christ Superstar" at the nearby Avon Theater, we had a very spacious suite (216) on the second floor, spotlessly clean and quiet combining two bedrooms and bathrooms and a lovely den space with a flat tv screen and sofas. Our stay was most agreable, everything we needed to see was within walking distance including the delectable Indian restaurant Raja. Impeccable service and hospitality. We will cerainly return here.

Room Tip: Close to all that is of interest In Stratford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We enjoyed our one night in this 'historic' hotel, although it was quite pricey. The room was very nice with all the appropriate amenities one would expect (including a high-def TV). The restaurant is one would expect at an 10-star hotel, but if you are a finicky diner as I am, go for the pub in the same facility (Thursday night is 'wing' nite). The hotel staff is VERY friendly and courteous. We would stay here again. One note, however, as it is an older structure, the hallways are very narrow, and using the luggage cart can be quite challenging, unless you think of it as a 'game.' All in all, the hotel fits in with the ambiance of Stratford. Do enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This is in the top two of our favorite hotels we regularly stay at. We LOVE this place! The hotel itself is really charming. It retains the feel of an 1800's establishment with modern comfort and exceptional service.This is the only place we have ever stayed in where the OWNER came to our room to fix a problem. The location is perfect; within walking distance of everthing in Stratford and has the benefit of a great gastropub on premise [more about that in a separate review]. The rooms are spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated - you feel as if you are stepping back in time. The beds are so comfortable we have often slept in longer than we should have on checkout day but the wonderfully accommodating staff have been just that, and have never once made us feel we were imposing on them.
Everytime we walk into the lobby of this hotel we feel like yelling "Honey, I'm Home" and that is exactly how we are treated - like family. There is a great fitness centre in the basement with lots of free cold water and a business room with free internet. We booked a family Christmas get-together a few years ago and everything was handled perfectly and we all had a great time.
This place has the best staff we have ever encountered. They go out of their way to make everything perfect and have never put a foot wrong in our experience. They are all so helpful but some of the one's we must single out are; Heath, Sharon, Myron & Rob in the pub; Carol in Housekeeping and Lorilyn in reception.
This is the place to stay in Stratford. We have never been disappointed; except when we have to leave.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful rooms but 205 has a double jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Parlour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parlour Inn

Address: 101 Wellington St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 4H3, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Parlour Historic Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parlour Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Parlour Inn !Downtown. This historic property is located in the heart of the downtown and just minutes away from Stratford's business parks, Stratford festival theatres and adjacent to the University of Waterloo Stratford Campus. Fantastic dining room and gastro-pub on site. Meeting and conference rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Parlour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Parlour Historic Hotel Stratford
Best Western Stratford
Stratford Best Western
The Parlour Inn Stratford, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parlour Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.