We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute two level suites with a fire place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bentley's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bentley's Inn
Save
You added Bentley's Inn to your Saves list
99 Ontario St., Stratford, Ontario, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 90 Stratford B&B and Inns
New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cute two level suites with a fire place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

This cute hotel is found on top of a restaurant/bar. In fact the check in desk is located at the front of the bar! But don't let the quaintness fool you; these rooms are decked out! The room I stayed in was two levels with a little kitchenette, a fireplace, a bed upstairs and downstairs, and two flat screens. It's quiet (as is Stratford) and is perfect for a couple, or friends who want to have a little bit of privacy.

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    17
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterland, Ohio
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Bentley's is a popular restaurant in the middle of the main drag of Stratford on Ontario Street. They have beautifully renovated 16 rooms in the floors directly above them.

We've stayed here twice and enjoyed it very much both times. The rooms are nicely and tastefully decorated. The two rooms we have stayed in are lofts with a king bed below and a twin bed upstairs. They have exposed brick on one wall, but the overall feel is chic and modern. The floor-to-ceiling windows along one wall make it feel bright and airy.

The bathrooms are completely new. They also have a small kitchen area with a refrigerator, bar-type sink, coffee-maker, and microwave (no stove). I was a little concerned that the rooms were over the restaurant, but we heard no noise either time we stayed. The room had a flat panel tv on both levels, but between the theatres and shopping we spent little time watching them. The wi-fi was fast and convenient.

The location is extremely convenient to the Avon and Tom Patterson Theatres, as well as virtually all of the shops and restaurants in town. The Festival Theatre is a 15-20 minute walk - you should just go along the river and enjoy the stroll.

There is parking in a garage across the street. I thought the parking was a little inconvenient when checking in, but there is no real need for a car while staying in town, so that proved to be minor.

This is really a set of comfortable rooms, rather than a full-service hotel, which is pretty much what we wanted, so there isn't anything like a concierge service etc. When you check in there is no separate reception area - you just go to the front desk of the restaurant, which is pretty much as easy. We had little interaction with the hotel staff, and had no reason to during our weekends.

This is a nice, centrally located place to stay in Stratford. While we often stay at B&Bs when going to the theatre, we will likely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The third year we have stayed at The Lofts. The rooms are extremely specious, very well equipped, and spottlessly clean. Housekeeping is excellent. And the location can't be beaten if shows and restarurants and shopping are your objective. All within walking (or staggering!) distance. Free parking across the street, which is fine since the car is not needed anyway. Pricey, sure. But worth it! And you'll LOVE those Temperpedic(?) mattresses.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

We stayed here for a hockey tournament with our hockey team. The staff were very accommodating. There were 2 buildings and we wanted all our team in the same building so they managed to get all our rooms together. The hotel is very deceptive from the outside but once you walk into a room it is a completely different experience. The rooms were clean and well decorated. Whoever redesigned this building did an outstanding job. The coaches had the executive suite and it was a dream with 3 fireplaces and 3 tvs, fridge, microwave and whirlpool bath and a large shower. There are plenty of good restaurants and shops around the hotel as well. When I come to the Stratford festival I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

My daughter & I stayed at Bentley's for a night as we were in Stratford for a theatre weekend. We arrived early & after wandering through the restaurant kitchen & finally finding the front desk the woman kindly allowed us to check in which was great although our loft was very hot & stuffy. We informed the front desk that the air conditioner was not working properly & were told that someone would check it - we were not convinced as no one appeared to be around - it was a very odd reception to an inn.

We went off the lunch & the theatre & returned to a hot & stuffy room - once again there was no one around to talk to so we spoke to the bartender who told us that there might be a problem with the air conditioner but he would have someone check it. We found it very strange that there was no one to talk to that appeared to have anything to do with the inn.

Fortunately when we returned that night the room was cooler & we were able to sleep.

We found the inn very pricey & probably would not return although the two people that we did speak to at the front desk were very sweet.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

As part of a group of women in Stratford for the weekend, the Lofts were a perfect place to stay, and I would not hesitate to recommend it to others! The accommodations were great value ($125/night + taxes in the off season), in a location that can't be beat, and with clean and modern rooms.

Location & Parking:
Right in the heart of downtown Stratford, the Lofts are located above Bentley's restaurant on Ontario St. To access the rooms, you go up a flight of stairs either directly behind, or in front of the restaurant (not sure if there is an elevator for those less mobile). The reception is at a desk just inside Bentley’s.

Free parking is included in a clean, covered lot about two blocks away (5 min walk) on Cobourg St. The walk was not an issue for us, especially since we did not drive the entire weekend --- however wanted to highlight the off site location for those of you who might find this inconvenient. There is a parking lot behind Bentley’s that was handy for loading/unloading the car and checking in (entrance off Albert St).

Accommodations:
We stayed in loft 109, which had a king bed on the lower level, and two single beds on the upper floor. The unit was very large, spacious and clean, decorated in a tasteful modern style. The main floor had a small kitchen area (including a microwave, kettle, tea pot, ice bucket, with milk, creamers and bottled water in the fridge), a desk, dresser, dining table and chairs, and armchair in front of the huge flat screen TV.

In addition to the single beds, the upper level had a smaller flat screen TV, an armchair, armoire, and is where the bathroom is located. The bathroom was very spacious and clean, with a ceiling fan, and large walk-in shower. Toiletries included shampoo, conditioner and lotion. There was a wall-mounted hair dryer (in other words, not a great one!).

There were individually controlled heaters downstairs, upstairs and in the bathroom which were really effective in warming up the rooms in the evenings. For those who are particular about your bed, note that the mattresses are not spring mattresses (they are tempurpedic – which I found quite comfortable).

Our loft had a huge skylight to make up for the lack of windows (109 being an interior unit) that let in a lot of sun in the morning. If you are at all sensitive to light and want a dark room to sleep in, or might feel claustrophobic without windows, make sure you choose an exterior room. Note that the hotel website has floor plans for every single unit, so you can easily identify which room you would prefer to stay in.

Remember that since this is a loft, everything is very open which means quiet/privacy might be an issue for some. To access the bathroom, you need to pass directly through the sleeping area upstairs. If you are watching TV downstairs, this could disturb anyone sleeping on the upper level. Just a watch-out in case this might be an issue for you!

We took advantage of the free wi-fi which had a pretty good connection.

Service:
I don’t imagine you can expect the same, instantaneous service you would get at a standard hotel; remember that this hotel is run by the same people who manage the restaurant below and don’t necessarily have staff on call. For instance, upon checking in we noticed that the TV was not working, and while they said they would have someone look into it, the issue was not addressed the entire weekend (not a big deal for us as we were mostly away from the hotel). If you’re used to having super attentive, top-notch service, while the front desk staff were certainly friendly enough, this probably isn’t the place for you!

Overall, this was a great find, and I definitely wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again in the future. Any questions? Feel free to send me a message.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Stayed with our older kids who loved the upstairs beds. Great having 2 TV's. Loved the decor, wonderful beds, great radio, fireplace & we had a large skylite in our room (102). Having the kitchenette was handy as well. Staff was friendly, great restaurant downstairs, could not hear any noise from there even on weekend. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bentley's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley's Inn

Address: 99 Ontario St., Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Bentley`s Hotel Stratford
Bentley's Inn Stratford, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bentley's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.