We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Much Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of County Food Company

County Food Company
38 Erie Street, Stratford, Ontario, Canada
+1 519-275-2665
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 111 Restaurants in Stratford
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Healthy, Canadian, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Our counters are full of freshly prepared healthy foods ,you can mix and match and build your own meal. We also have a great selection of Sandwiches...Our build your own picnic pails are a favourite ,ready in 5mins. During the summer season May-Late September,we offer a great Sunday Brunch menu in addition to our daily offerings. We make everything from scratch featuring local seasonal ingredients. We have offering for gluten free,vegetarians and Vegans
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Pretty Much Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We discovered this little gem last year when we visited Stratford. This year we knew we would not miss it. It's on Erie Street, right in the middle of town. There is eat-in or take-out and also has a lovely patio right by the sidewalk garden where they grow their herbs.

The food is about as fresh as you would ever want. They have wonderful sandwiches and wraps. My experience has been with the chicken salad sandwich which is packed generously with chicken and has the most wonderful flavour. My husband gets the vegetarian wraps which he loves. Salads are sold by weight and what we like to do is get a plate to share. We get a little bit of everything! The asparagus spears are fabulous! Actually, all of the salads are great.

They also have a selection of food which you choose from a glassed-in counter and these are the foods they will heat up. You must not miss the potato pancakes!!!!! Unfortunately I have not been able to sample everything there but I know they have chicken breasts and salmon, in addition to lots of things I have forgotten.

Dessert? Oh yeah! The pecan squares are essential to your well-being, trust me! Ambrosia! I can also highly recommend the chocolate-cheesecake brownie. Chewy chewy chewy!!!

The staff is very friendly and helpful!

They source their food and beer from local suppliers and the list of these suppliers is on a chalkboard over the door (on the inside of the restaurant). I think they also have wine.

You can also have a picnic packed in one of their pails so you can go off to your favorite spot along the Avon and relax.

One thing I would suggest to this already-perfect eatery is to consider the use of tofu for vegetarians. It is not always easy to get protein in restaurants if you are vegetarian. Looking at the menu, we realized that many of the sandwiches and wraps could be vegetarian (with protein) by removing the meat and substituting grilled slices of tofu.

We are already looking forward to visiting this restaurant again next summer!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    15
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Local ingredients cooked really well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

County Foods offers customers really well-made cuisine for a fraction of the cost of the higher priced full service restaurants on the main St. And... many lot of the menu items come from Perth County or nearby. That's why the menu is so varied week to week. So whatever is in season, it is on your plate!

Fun picnic pails allow visitors to explore Stratford and dine al fresco like the gran touristas in Gourmet Mag.

Eating at The County Foods Company is like noshing at Mom's only better - cos there is Ontario craft beer, wine, sinful desserts and no dishes afterwards. Booyah!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unwelcome customer”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Coming into Stratford for the theatre, we looked for a casual place to grab a quick bite. Several years ago when The County Food co. opened, it was a nice casual atmosphere for individuals. It's a grade up from cafeteria food and the girls behind the counter are nice enough, however, this place has slid downhill since. When we went this time, the food was barely warmed (microwaved), what starts off as a reasonably priced item magically costs more by the time it's rung in, there was a huge crack in the front window that was taped back together instead of being replaced and individual patrons are made to feel they are a bother.
While we ordered our food at the counter, the staff pushed tables together for a big group. We sat at the only available table which didn't have settings on it and ate our meal. Another couple came in and sat at an unset table squeezed into a corner and promised they'd eat as quickly as possible. 25 minutes later, a large school group of teens and their teacher arrived. The cook came out of the kitchen, came right up to us and told us in a confrontational tone that we shouldn't be sitting at the table. She asked us to leave. We were stunned and before we could reply, the teacher intercepted by saying, "It's ok, we're early anyway." The cook said loudly, "They're almost finished." We hurried our meal and while the girl was clearing our dishes, I commented on the incident. She told me that the cook was the owner. This surprised me. Why didn't the staff tell us before we ordered that every single table was reserved or that it would have to be released shortly? Why didn't they put a sign on the door 'Closed for private function'? Better yet, why would the owner not use diplomatic skills to handle an awkward situation? It certainly left us feeling put out especially as we had spent
$40. I guess times have changed. There are better places to grab a quick bite to eat in Stratford, where you'll feel welcomed. We'll certainly be taking our business elsewhere. And a message for the cook/owner- If you don't like people, stay in the kitchen and let someone more diplomatic deal with customers (if you haven't already pushed them out the door).

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best breakfast in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Whenever we want a special occasion breakfast, this is the place. Really creative combos of super fresh ingredients. And, friendly staff. Check it out!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

There are two refrigerated counters containing available prepared food and a small salad bar. The salad bar is sold by the kg. You look at the food and decide what you want and then they heat it up and serve it. There is seating inside and outside.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed County Food Company also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to County Food Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage County Food Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.