We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foster's Inn Restaurant

Foster's Inn Restaurant
111 Downie Street, Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 114 Restaurants in Stratford
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We dropped in here one night in October. Overall the food was quite good with generous portions. I had the steak dinner, my husband the fish special. The steak was definitely the winner. I noticed the burgers being served were wonderfully portioned and would definitely have one of those next time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    42
    22
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I went to this cozy restaurant for our 1st wedding anniversary while at our son's hockey tournament. The atmosphere was great, the fod was wonderful and of course the company was perfect. My wife and I enjoyed the dinner and both commented we had not enjoyed a meal that much in a long time. The Captain Crunch ice cream pie was delicious!.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Always hit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is one of those fun and funky places you really want to like. If only they could make it so you'd get good food and quality service every time! Every time we've been in it's like we're a burden to the wait staff. The menu is uninspired and lacks variety. Too bad - I do so want to like you...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great customer service! Food is awesome! Waitress is friendly!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Date of Visit: Oct 22, 2012
Time of Visit: 8:33pm
No. of Customers: 2
Server: Terri-Lynn

When we arrived to the town, Stratford, we had already heard so many great reputations about the Foster's Inn. Either our B&B owner or the waitress from the other restaurants (we dined in others on our 1st day!), they both HIGHLY recommended this restaurant for us!

It was around 830pm on Monday evening. It wasn't that busy in the restaurant (maybe it's Monday! We heard that Mondays here is like Sundays in Toronto or other big cities). We waited for about a minute, our server, Terri-L. came to greet us. She smiled and showed us the table.

Terri-L. knew the menu so well. She suggested us with a few signature items and today's soups/salads. I ordered the 8oz Sirolin Steak (medium-rare) while my friend, Crystal, ordered a 7oz Tender-loin Steak (medium). The food were ready within 20 minutes cuz of steaks!

Crystal liked her steak so much, however, mine was being done over. I told my server, Terri-L., about the problem and she noticed it. She QUICKLY appologized and ordered another one for me. By the time i was waiting, I heard that she was talking to the kitchen chefs regarding the problem.

In about 12-15 minutes, Terri-L., brought in my FRESHLY PERFECT-done Steak. She was asking me whether I wanted to slice and check it first. I told her, 'it should be fine! I can see it based on its surface!' She then smiled and asked me if I wanted any black peppers on my fries. I smiled back and said to her, 'Yes please and thanks for changing it for me!'

The Steak was excellent! It was so HOT( 'smoke' was coming out when slicing on it!) and JUICY!!! I LOVE IT!!

I would love to say, 'thank-you', to my server, Terri-Lynn, and the Chefs (2x). You guys did a fantastic job! I had a great dinning experience in stratford!! I definitely would come back!

Crystal and Susanna
Toronto

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Busy! Reserve early before a show.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We visited for lunch on a Friday before a show at the Avon. Since we did not reserve a table we sat at their charming bar. The food was well presented and prepared with care. Save room for great deserts! Don't forget to reserve a table if you wish seating in the main dining area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foster's Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Foster's Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foster's Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.