We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to dine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Restaurant

Taj Restaurant
116 Downie Street, Stratford, Ontario N5A 1X1, Canada (Formerly Taj Fine Dining)
519-271-0123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 110 restaurants in Stratford
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stratford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to dine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Late meal, service was very attentive and quick, food, Scottish chicken curry and chicken korma was devine. We will definitely be back!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    18
    12
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Indian dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Highly recommend this restaurant. We just ate there, returning after our first positive experience a year ago while in Stratford for plays and shows.
We had the pre-theatre dinner for two, which included a sampler of appetizers, three entrees, and dessert. From previous experience in Indian restaurants we have found that we are found of Chicken Tikki Masala and so substituted that for the Butter Chicken normally served.
There also is an interesting bread served called Naan.
All was excellent. Portions were great, in fact, more than we could eat.
Of the two desserts offered, we found the lemon sorbet among the best we've ever had. Terrific!!!
The mango ice cream was just good.
We'll go back next time we're at Stratford.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaforth, Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the outside!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was a first visit to this restaurant and I was a little unsure from outside as there was no menu up to see. The staff were very courteous and thefood was excellant. will go back. Highly recomend the Sag Prawn and Naan. The onion bhajiis were also very good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“As good or better than any Indian food we've had in Toronto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Taj is a relatively new Indian restaurant in Stratford. It is located across the street and down a few stores from the Avon Theatre. We've eaten there twice and found the food to be very good, comparable to or better than The Host in Toronto. Portions are larger than those served in many Indian establishments, and we've found the service to be very prompt and attentive. We particularly enjoyed the vegetable dishes--the saag paneer is truly excellent.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“It is not really authentic Indian Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Decided to try this restaurant with a friend who is East Indian and who is a very good cook herself, the dish I had was a chicken dish with a currie sauce, after my friend tasted the sauce she confirmed that it was not home made, but tomato paste out of a can, it was not fresh tomates, the prices are pretty expensive, and the service was not all that good, after eating at my friend's home a week later, I was able to experience true Indian Cuisine. The deserts are way overpriced for what you get a $15.00 lunch probably only cost the restaurant about $3.00 to make.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Restaurant also viewed

 
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Taj Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.