We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of D&K Shady Nook

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
D&K Shady Nook
Save
You added D&K Shady Nook to your Saves list
64 Earl Street, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6G2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 92 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Kathy and Doug are the ultimate hosts. This was our third time staying with them and it felt as if we were visiting with friends. The recommendations they made for lunch, dinner, and close by shopping were right on.
The Shady Nook is within walking distance of the Avon, the theaters, and downtown. We were able to take long strolls by the water and watch the swans. A most relaxing experience.
We will be going back again and again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, Owner at D&K Shady Nook, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Great guests that we enjoy having return again and again. Kathy especially enjoyed showing and talking about her quilts and other sewing projects. We have many talented people who stay and share their works with us,thanks, Kathy loves her bracelet,nice work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We've been coming to Stratford for many years, but this was our first stay at Shady Nook. We'll be back! The location is great - on a quiet residential street but only a very short drive or a 10-15 minute walk to three of the theaters and a bit longer to the Festival. It's very clean, quiet, and well air-conditioned (important in the heat and humidity we had this weekend). The rooms are very comfortable, and there is one on the ground floor which was great for us because I had a very heavy piece of luggage I'd had to bring. There is a nice living room where guests can gather, and there is a computer there for guests to use. There is also WiFi throughout the house. Our favorite part is the back of the house - the solarium where you eat breakfast looking out on the lovely gardens, the deck with lots of comfortable chairs, and the inviting swimming pool. Our breakfast was delicious - juice, fruit with yogurt, toast, omelets, and ham. Sadie, their friendly dog, added to the homey feel of this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, Owner at D&K Shady Nook, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We appreciate your glowing reporton our B&B and look forward to your return.It is always nice
when people have a pleasant stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My friend and I have have stayed at D&K Shady Nook for two weeks every summer since 2005. I can't imagine staying anywhere else. The gardens are beautiful, and it is so relaxing to sit on the porch and read or talk with other guests. Each charmingly decorated bedroom has its own full bathroom. The entire house is always immaculate. A hearty breakfast is served in a beautiful sun room. The location is ideal; we leisurely walk the 10 - 20 minutes it takes to get to any of the theaters. The owners, Doug and Kathy, are the absolute best: friendly, welcoming, helpful, and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, Owner at D&K Shady Nook, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
You make us blush, we love having such great guest and it is always a pleasure when they come back each year, many thanks D&K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas, On. Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My girl friend and I just spent 4 days at Shady Nook, Stratford, On. A terrific bed and breakfast. Four bedroom with bathrooms. Air conditioned and super clean. We have been going there for about 16 years. The breakfasts are huge and good. Fresh fruit, juice, coffee, tea and everthing else you can imagine to eat. No one goes away hungry. They have a pool for anyone who wants to go in for a dip. You have use of the livingroom with T.V. and they have WIFI. They are most friendly, happy and welcoming. Thank you Kathy and Doug for a wonderful stay once again. Jan B

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, Owner at D&K Shady Nook, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you ladies for all you have been over the last sixteen years, we have golfed, dined and had a great time during your visits. stay well always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have stayed with Doug and Kathy White two years in a row and have already booked this wonderful bed and breakfast for our Stratford Shakespeare Festival trip in 2013. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed, each with a full separate bathroom. The breakfasts are served in a beautiful solarium and they are substantial, more than enough to see us into the mid to late afternoon. Doug and Kathy are an engaging and extremely thoughtful couple, who go out of their way to make our stay a comfortable one. For even the moderate walker, this facility is well-located; we have walked, at least once, to each of the three main Festival venues.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug W, Owner at D&K Shady Nook, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you for the glowing review,we will strive to maintain your confidence and patronage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, MI
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at D&K overnight on June 30th, and had a wonderful, restful time. Have been to Stratford many times and usually stay elsewhere, but they were full so we tried D&K. This is now our preferred B&B in Stratford! We agree whole-heartedly with the other reviews - everything was perfect and cozy and home-like. We forgot toothpaste and my husband ran to the store, but I have no doubt Kathy would have given us some :) I enjoyed the pool - glad I spied it on the website the day before - it added to the getting-away feeling! Room was of good size and great layout. Good closet and I LOVE that the bathroom sink had ample counter space - that is important to me!! Met some very nice people. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at D&K Shady Nook, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Looking forward to your return, glad everything was to the enjoyment and pleasure at the theater and restaurants, Stratford has a lot to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay with Doug and Kathy White and their dog Sadie at the Shady Nook. Rooms were good size with attached wash rooms and ample closet space. Suggest the "lavender room" which is upstairs and furthest corner from the common areas if busy. The property is easy walking distance to the river, two theaters, and downtown. Our first trip to Stratford we enjoyed plentiful breakfasts with morning and afternoon swims at the in-ground pool. (We visited during a record-breaking heat wave so the pool was a real god-send for us.) Sadie is a very friendly dog and a happy trip mascot. Would return again.

Room Tip: Upstairs queen room is the "lavender room" due to the linens and painting. Don't worr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at D&K Shady Nook, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
We hope all your expectationsfor theater, food and accommodatioms where met, come visit
again soon, we will be glad toserve you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to D&K Shady Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D&K Shady Nook

Address: 64 Earl Street, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a quiet street we offer four en-suite bedrooms, a twin/king and queen on the main floor and two queens on the second floor. An easy walk to gourmet restaurants, theater and boutique shopping, as well as Art in the Park, our famous Swans and many photo opportunities along the Avon river await. We serve a full breakfast and cater to special diets. A large guest Frig for ice and to keep your refreshments cool awaits in our Sunroom where you can play cards or have a picnic lunch on a rainy day. Enjoy a refreshing dip in the pool, a bike ride or sun on the large deck, the coffee's on so come let us make your Stratford experience all it can be, see you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
D&K Shady Nook Stratford, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D&K Shady Nook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.