We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for an intimate wedding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario
Save
You added Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario to your Saves list
62 John St. N., Stratford, Ontario N5A 6K7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 92 Stratford B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place for an intimate wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

We had our wedding at the Stewart House and from top to bottom, it was a lovely affair. There were able to cater for 43 people (although this is getting close to their upper limit), and some of our guests stayed in their seven excellent rooms. The ceremony was in the shade just by the pool, and then everyone relaxed and chatted while nibbling on excellent finger foods. A huge bonus was being able to bring our own drinks, which they did a super job of keeping cool. They have great poolside furniture with umbrellas for shade.

The rooms themselves were tastefully done according to different themes. All but one of the seven rooms had modern ensuites. All rooms had flatscreen TVs with DVD players.

Their motto is spoil you rotten, and they certainly did put out for us whatever and whenever we asked for things. The level of service was excellent.

We visited other places, and none of the other places in the Stratford region were even close in comparison.

The stereo system plays music both inside and outside, and an IPOD could easily be connected. We used our laptop to play music.

It was a really nice combination of elegance and relaxation, and Marc's experience in the hotel business really shone through. If you're looking for a great place to do an intimate function, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Our four night stay at this exceptional property was truly wonderful. The Inn is beautiful, comfortable, cozy and fun. Marc and his family are amazingly gracious hosts. I was there for my birthday; it was so special that Marc made a point of acknowledging it with some celebrating around the pool and graciously accepting phone calls from my children with birthday wishes. Marc does a great job of keeping just the right balance between respecting your privacy and engaging you in friendly conversation. No attention to detail is left untouched - love the silver, china, fine art, robes, and in room coffee service. It is obvious that the proprietors are well versed in the hospitality industry. I highly recommend The Stewart House Inn - you're in for a very special treat. I was sad to leave.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

We have stayed in some very nice B&B's including some in the southern US, Charleston and Savannah, but the Stewart House Inn is by far the cream of the crop. The house, rooms, property and the service from Marc, family and associates was outstanding. If you're looking for a place to stay, relax and unwind when visiting the Stratford area it doesn't get better than the Stewart House Inn.

John & Nina
Burlington, ON

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

We just returned from a 2 day visit to Stewart House, our fourth, in as many years.After our initial visit we thought we had experienced the best---the beautifully furnished rooms,the lovely garden,complete with pool,the delicious breakfasts prepared by Mary and of course the very attentive and thoughtful host,Mark Armstrong. Mark offered hints and practical advice to make the most of our visit.
Well we were wrong--the Stewart House experience just keeps getting better and so we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

Three couples just returned from a three night stay at Stewart House. The accommodations are the best in Stratford, but what really sets it apart is the staff, led by Marc Armstrong. Where a good host responds to all of your needs, a great one anticipates them and takes care of them almost before you ask. Marc makes you feel like a royal guest and makes you want to come back again and again. Bravo!

  • Liked — Marc Armstrong
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

I just returned from a 4-night stay at the Stewart House Inn. It was my first time at the inn, which I chose based on the reviews here on TripAdvisor. The inn, the management and staff, and the service more than lived up to their great reviews! Marc Armstrong was a fantastic host and made me feel so comfortable, welcomed, and at home at the Stewart House Inn. (I was traveling alone.) The house is so lovely; I particularly enjoyed the fantastic full breakfasts (delicious!) in the beautiful dining room and relaxing outside by the pool in the tranquil, charming patio area at the back of the house. My room (the Raj) was very comfortable and attractively furnished in an exotic motif. Thank you so much, Marc, Lynn, Mary, Brenda, and Hayleigh, for an unforgettable vacation. I hope to return next summer for at least 4 or 5 nights.

Rose P. from New Jersey

  • Liked — Charming, peaceful environment and caring, solicitous staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

We just got back from a Father's Day weekend stay at the Stewart House Inn in Stratford, and what a treat it was! We were greeted by Marc, our affable and gracious host, along with his beloved doggies, Essex and York. Marc made us feel right at home, showing us the main rooms, and helping with our luggage up to the cozy Carolina Suite. He offered suggestions for dining, how to obtain last minute tickets for the theater, gave directions on how to walk to the city center .... he was a knowledgeable and friendly host!
The property has air conditioning, and beautiful grounds, with a heated, salt water pool. They have an automatic coffee machine that is capable of producing just about any kind of coffee drink you would want - latte, espresso, macchiato .... and there are always cookies, cake and fruit out for the late night nibbles. Service at breakfast is outstanding, with visually pleasing presentation of the food, and delicious offerings, such as asparagus quiche, peameal bacon and fruit. Oh yes, I almost forgot the coffee and tea service in the morning, delivered directly to your room by use of the butlers' buttons in each suite, with Marc responding with your morning beverage, accompanied by your cream, sugar, milk, whatever you requested when you first arrived. I would highly recommend that Trip Advisor members book their next stay in Stratford at this outstanding B&B!

  • Liked — Location and comfort of suites and property
  • Disliked — The televisions in the suites were very small and somewhat difficult to watch
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario

Address: 62 John St. N., Stratford, Ontario N5A 6K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious private retreat set on an acre of residential woodlands, overlooking the Avon River parklands and within two blocks of the downtown core. All rooms are exquisitely furnished with ensuite bathrooms. Features include fine Egyptian linens, all-season goose down duvets, robes for each season. wireless internet access, flat screen TV with DVD, and stereo CD/Clock radio. Tariff includes morning silver coffee service, gourmet breakfast, full evening turndown, and seasonal heated salt-water pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario Hotel Stratford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stewart House Inn, Stratford, Ontario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.