We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chisholms in Stratford

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chisholms in Stratford
310 Ontario St., Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 88 Stratford B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A great B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable stay over the Easter long weekend at the Chisholms. It was our first visit to Stratford and Kent is a welcoming host and wonderful source of local history and knowledge, including great recommendations for cafes and restaurants. It is the attention to detail and little extras that make a stay at this B&B a special experience. Our room was spotless and extremely comfortable with special touches including a coffee maker, chocolates and choices of soap. Breakfast in the main dining room was delicious with such generous serves we hardly needed lunch! We would certainly recommend the Chisholms.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
152
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We've stayed at the Chisolm's B&B during the theatre season and in off-season, and the hospitality is always the same: wonderful. Kent and Diane are splendid hosts with intimate knowledge of their town and the many plays offered by the Stratford Festival. They know the restaurants, the tours, the music and the plays and always give honest advice. (If only they could find some secret source of tickets to the sold-out musicals ... but that's just not possible.) We always book our room first and arrange the theatre tickets to match - but that means planning months in advance. It's worth it for a splendid visit during the peak season.

Room Tip: We prefer - in order - the Red room (great wing chairs), the English room (best bathtub), and the As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creemore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have visited The Chisholms three times in three years, during the off-season. When we arrived this time, we were thrilled to find our room was just as we had remembered from last year - cozy, elegant and filled with special touches, right down to the complimentary refreshments and snacks. Breakfasts were delicious and imaginative. Attention to detail was present in everything at the table, and the food was better than homemade.
It was great to have a chance to chat with Kent about the town and its' history. He is the best goodwill ambassador Stratford could ever have and is definitely entertaining. He has his finger on the pulse of what is going on and is a great advisor, should you be looking for suggestions for where to eat or places to visit. That being said, Kent and Diane are careful to allow their guests privacy and quiet.
We have no criticisms for this bed and breakfast. These owners are two of the best hosts we have ever encountered. We will definitely be back to The Chisholms within the year and we look forward to having a chance to experience their gracious hospitality sooner, rather than later...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had the good fortunate to experience another wonderful stay at the Chisholms. We arrived from Hamilton to a lovely room with a fire burning softly in the fireplace. The ambiance was very cozy and welcoming. The special goodies in the room such as refreshments, snacks and candy made us feel special. The breakfasts were spectacular, nutritious and delicious, even baggies were given to take any muffins for snacks. The Chisholms are always accomodating with detailed information about what's happening in town, great restaurants, weather info. etc. During our stay we had some snow which was cleaned off our car the next morning by Kent. Wow! This was a spectacular stay, a nice getaway during the chill of the winter. We are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This past weekend we stayed at The Chisholms in Stratford, and we were very pleased with... well, everything! Having worked in several fine dining restaurants and then starting my own wellness clinic, I have learned to have very high standards, and must admit that The Chisholms very much lived up to those expectations. From the cleanliness, to the beautiful decor, to the warm and friendly greetings from the owners (Kent and Diane) - it was all... perfect. The breakfast was outstanding - the detail in the finely cut fruit and accommodating our food requests was truly 'above and beyond'. I wish I could offer them something constructive in the way of criticism, but short of carrying us upstairs and drawing us a bath, we were already treated like royalty. Thanks Chisholms!

Room Tip: The English Room has a bathtub, which was really lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I have been going to Stratford in the off season to shop, browse and dine. This year we stayed at Chisholms' B&B and loved the ambience, the awesome breakfast, the comfy bed and the close proximity to the downtown area. No need to use the car when staying here!
Our hosts were welcoming, professional and a great source of information on the Town of Stratford and the surrounding area.
Thank you Kent and Diane - we are looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our two night stay was excellent. Accomodation and food great with attention to every detail. English Room was great. The location was walking distance to shopping, downtown, restaurants and theatre in season. We found the whole experience a wonderful way to celebrate our anniversary. Kent and Diane are wonderful ambassadors for the B&B experience and the city of Stratford and its theatre district.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chisholms in Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chisholms in Stratford

Address: 310 Ontario St., Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historically designated 1881 Italianate home in downtown Stratford, Canada. Park & walk everywhere. 3 large en-suite bedrooms with TV, fridge, electric fireplace, A/C, Wi-Fi, breakfast, Open all year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Chisholms In Stratford Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chisholms in Stratford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Chisholms in Stratford to your Saves list