We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Almost Home Bed and Breakfast

Almost Home Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Almost Home Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Almost Home Bed and Breakfast
2870 Forest Road, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6S5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 90 Stratford B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Our trip to Stratford was made all the better by our good fortune to stay at Sandra's lovely, warm and welcoming B&B. In addition to the clean and well-appointed rooms, our hostess Sandra was accommodating friendly and helpful. This will now be our choive for all visits in the future !

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Almost Home is beautifully decorated. The room was great and very clean. Sandra has refreshments available at all times. Breakfast was wonderful! The night before she asked us what time we would like to eat. It stated with fresh fruit and croissants. The croissants were unbelievable!!! There was plenty of food and the table was set beautifully. Sandra went out of her way to answer all of our questions. What a terrific place!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The decor was great, the room very comfortable, location was so close to Stratford, yet we were far away from the commotion, the FOOD WAS EXCELLENT, cold bottled water available, delicious cookies always out and the owner was a joy to visit with.
I hesitate to do this review since it will make it more difficult to get reservations, but Almost Home deserves the adulation.
We will stay here every year from now on.
Also, Sandra's restaurant recommendations were great. She even made reservations for us.
Superb!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We just got back from a trip to Stratford and a three-night stay at Almost Home B&B. We had a wonderful experience thanks to Sandra and her beautiful home. The accommodations are lovely and comfortable. Best bed I've slept in away from home! The B&B is close to downtown but as another reviewer said, enough away to provide a quiet respite. Our hostess gave us such good ideas for things to do in Stratford and places to eat (loved the chocolate trail!) She was even helpful with the next leg of our journey and pointed us in the direction of a great lakeside town in Ontario. The breakfasts here were delicious and beautifully presented. We hope to stay at Almost Home again--great experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We were looking for a B&B in Stratford that would allow pets, since we recently got a small dog and was not comfortable leaving him with strangers just yet. We were happy to learn that this B&B allowed pets, and were very welcoming of our little guy. This B&B is not right in downtown Stratford, but it is literally a 2 minute drive away - very convenient. I was thrilled to learn that they also accommodate a gluten free diet (I was so happy!) After we checked in to our room, there was a selection of coffee or tea, and fabulous gluten free brownies and cookies. We ate the brownies - they were delicious (my husand enjoyed it as well, and he is usually not fond of gluten free foods). The room was beautifully decorated - cozy, yet modern. The entire place was extremely clean. Breakfast in the morning was absolutely beautiful - with plenty of food. We had yogurt and berries and muslix, followed buy frittata, toast and jam (gluten free for me, regular for my husband) and premium bacon, coffee, orange juice, and gluten free banana muffins. The host (Sandra) is very friendly and welcoming. We would stay here again in a heartbeat, and have recommended it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at Almost Home in October for three evenings. We were greeted with fresh coffee and a wonderful assortment of desserts. We sat outside on a private deck and soaked up the atmosphere for a bit.
The bed was comfortable, breakfast scrumptious! All is all, just like home.
Sandra provided us with lots of recommendations for dinner and touring opportunties.
It is located about 6 km outside of Stratford, but if you like the quiet in the evenings,, this is just the place. Very easy to find.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

My mother-in-law and I stayed here during the Shakespeare Festival last summer (2010). The B&B is located just a few minutes from downtown stratford, but is enough out of the town that you are in a calm and quiet location.

The home has a new addition which housed the two rooms for rent. Guests get a key for the separate entrance in the new addition. The setup feels very private. The rooms are modern and comfortable with a spacious bathroom. They also have a flexible setup - twin beds or a king bed.

You are welcomed in the mornings with warm coffee and tea in the common guest area. We ate all of our meals out on the back deck, enjoying the weather, yard, and gardens. The meals were expertly prepared and varied from day to day.

We look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Almost Home Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almost Home Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2870 Forest Road, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6S5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Almost Home Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almost Home Bed And Breakfast Stratford, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almost Home Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.