We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bed and breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Cottage on Brunswick

A Cottage on Brunswick
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Cottage on Brunswick
184 Brunswick Street, Stratford, Ontario, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 88 Stratford B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great location, close to the theatre, restaurant and stores.
Aurelia is an excellent hostess. She goes above and beyond to make her guests comfortable. The rooms are nicely decorated. I've been coming to Stratford for 25 years and this is one of the best places I've stayed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have been coming back for several years because of the welcoming atmosphere, central location and excellent breakfasts and service that we receive from Aurelia. She tailors breakfast requests to guests' schedules and tastes and made my group feel most welcome. You cannot beat it for warmth, value and convenience.

I have been coming to Stratford every year since 1985 and have tried several establishments. We are voting with our wallets and have come back every year since Aurelia took over.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creemore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here only one night, but booked for another in August. This cottage is run by Aurelia, who provides a lovely breakfast, first asking what you would like. There are 5 bedrooms, parking off street also, which is necessary in Stratford. We had been advised to ask for the bedroom downstairs at the front, (there is only one downstairs), but on being shown one upstairs at the front, this is the one we should have taken. It is larger, a couple of comfortable chairs. IT is advertised as being in walking distance to downtown, and the theatres, which is the reason that most people are there, but it is a good walk, especially if you are going to the Festival Theatre.

Room Tip: Ask for the room upstairs at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have stayed at Cottage on Brunswick several times. The only reason we would ever go elsewhere is if Aurelia didn't have room for us. The rooms are excellent. The breakfasts are over the top. Start with a yogurt and fruit parfait followed by quiches or fritattas accompanied with a variety of breads and rolls. If you want cereal, she offers that too. And fresh fruit. And strong coffee; good strong coffee. Tea is available upon request.

Take your walking shoes because almost everything of note is within walking distance AND you will need to walk off that breakfast or bring stretchy pants.

Room Tip: Choose the main floor king if you don't want to negotiate stairs. The other guest rooms are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Severn, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We spent two nights at the cottage on Brunswick, and were very pleased with the accommodations, the owner was more than accommodating, the room was bright,clean, well appointed with the bathroom en suite. We plan on going back.

Vinda,
Montreal,PQ

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

We had a wonderful 3-night stay at the Cottage on Brunswick this past week. The room was bright, cheerful and clean with an adjoining bathroom and refrigerator .
The breakfast was excellent each morning with plenty of great food and fresh fruit.
The location was just a few blocks from downtown and the Avon Theater and a short 5 min walk to the Tom Patterson theater. The Festival Theater was just over 10 minutes away.
The owners were quite pleasant and friendly.
Parking on site.
We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Cottage on Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Cottage on Brunswick

Address: 184 Brunswick Street, Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Also Known As:
A Cottage On Brunswick Stratford, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Cottage on Brunswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added A Cottage on Brunswick to your Saves list