We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay in Stratford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast
240 Mornington Street, Stratford, Ontario N5A 5G5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Multiple nights $15 off
Ranked #9 of 88 Stratford B&B and Inns
Delta, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wonderful stay in Stratford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a lovely 3 night stay at the Mornington Rose the beginning of July. The room was well appointed with a comfortable bed and a wonderful little balcony for sitting reading and enjoying a glass of wine. The hosts are friendly, professional and produce the best breakfasts we have had at any of our B&B experiences. Their B&B is located just across the river from the main street and close by the theaters making all of the sites you want to get to no more than a 10 or 15 minute easy and beautiful walk.
We are already planning our return visit for next year and certainly will be rebooking at this wonderful B&B. Thank you Victoria and Murray for making our stay so easy and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorningtonRose, Owner at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
You are So welcome! We pride ourselves that everything at the Rose is prepared in house, including growing our own raspberries and herbs from our kitchen garden. Of course, Victoria is a very picky chef and won't present anything unless it's perfect ; ) We're looking forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was our second stay at the Mornington Rose while traveling to Stratford for the theatre festival. Murray and Victoria made dinner reservations for us with an excellent Thai restaurant that was open as we and friends arrived late on Canada day and followed up the next morning to be sure our experience matched their recommendation. As locals as well as hosts, they follow places and events in Stratford very closely and their advice can really improve your experience around town. Every breakfast (almost an early brunch) was superbly planned around our dietary needs, carefully prepared, and warmly served. The Mornington was also a delight to the eye on our first visit two years ago, and it has only improved with some beautiful new art, including some of Torrie's own pieces. This was a great second stay, just like the first. We'll be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ebony Room on our first visit and in the Champaign Room on this visit. Both were v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorningtonRose, Owner at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
It was great to have you and your friends back at Mornington Rose! We're glad you like our restaurant recommendation- isn't the Thai restaurant wonderful? Definitely a positive addition to the many excellent restaurants in Stratford. We're glad you liked the new art (from traditional to modern) and my fused glass pieces, which, after 5 years, I have finally got around to making for our rooms ; ) We're looking forward to a return visit in September! Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My friend and I recently stayed one night at the Mornington Rose B&B in the Ivory Room. It was a wonderful experience from the comfortable well-appointed room to the scrumptious breakfast! Our room had the added bonus of a private patio where we were able to enjoy a glass of wine. Our hosts were extremely helpful and courteous, providing us with many little extras - choice of beverages any time, home made cookies, list of restaurants, tour of their work/gift shop. The location of the B&B is great as it is in walking distance of the theatres, restaurants, and shopping. We will definitely be back for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorningtonRose, Owner at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much! As we travel as well, off season, we know what we like and need, and try to anticipate what guests would like, so accommodate them to the best of our ability. We're glad you enjoyed Murray's cookies, and hope to see you again.
v
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights over a weekend (Friday and Saturday night). We were in town to have a relaxing weekend away and enjoy some Shakespeare at the Festival Theatre. Everything we effortless and relaxing. The B&B is ideally situated for popping across the bridge into town or for taking walks around Lake Victoria. There's also a well-stocked convenience store right across the road for any essentials. We stayed in the Champagne Room, which was tasteful, charming and clean. Murray and Victoria were perfect hosts and the breakfasts excellent. We would both highly recommend the Mornington Rose.

Room Tip: The Champagne Room is in the new addition to the house, so it isn't on central air, but there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorningtonRose, Owner at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your weekend at The Rose. We try to make your stay as stress-free and relaxing as possible, as well as hoping you can enjoy all that Stratford has to offer : theatre, shopping, or just walking by the lake and enjoying the scenery. Please remember that if you have forgotten anything, we have a good supply of "necessities" so please ask us before you have to purchase anything - we will usually have it for you. Thank you for the recommendation, and we hope to see you again!
V



We stayed for two nights over a weekend (Friday and Saturday night). We were in town to have a relaxing weekend away and enjoy some Shakespeare at the Festival Theatre. Everything we effortless and relaxing. The B&B is ideally situated for popping across the bridge into town or for taking walks around Lake Victoria. There's also a well-stocked convenience store right across the road for any essentials. We stayed in the Champagne Room, which was tasteful, charming and clean. Murray and Victoria were perfect hosts and the breakfasts excellent. We would both highly recommend the Mornington Rose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

What a wonderful experience we had at this delightful B and B. Torrie and Murray were exceptional hosts and the inn is filled with charm. Breakfasts were so tasty and beautifully plated that we just had to take pictures! Location is within walking distance of the main street and most theaters. Our hosts were also helpful in procuring dinner reservations and giving us great tips on what to see and do. Don't miss this spot if you are in or nearby Stratford.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorningtonRose, Owner at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We're so glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us! Make sure to send us those pictures of our breakfasts - we'll put them on our website and Facebook if it's all right with you! Yes, we are quite centrally located, and most guests just park here and walk everywhere. The Festival Theatre is 20- 25 minutes away (depending on how long t takes you to look at the swans), the Avon is 15 minutes, and the Patterson is 7 minutes walk. We're glad you liked our dinner recommendation - there are so many fine restaurants in Stratford sometimes it's hard to choose : ) We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our hosts at this clean and beautifully-appointed B&B could run a course on how to operate a top-notch B&B. We had a lovely, quiet room with all the amenities we might want and one of our hosts was always available to supply whatever we might need. The "special request" breakfast was exactly as ordered and the whole service of breakfast was beautifully done. There was not a lot of unnecessary clutter and the bonus was a small boutique store on site where one of the owners sells her glass jewellery and other artistic giftware. We will definitely return to this B&B and have already recommended it to several of our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorningtonRose, Owner at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
What a lovely compliment! I'm glad that you were happy staying with us and that we were able to make your visit a pleasurable one. (by the way, your "special" breakfast was one that Murray and I often have ourselves, so it really wasn't a problem at all....shhh....) It's always nice for me to show guests my Torrie S Fused Glass Studio in our outbuilding. Murray has just set up a flameworking station for me, so I can now play with molten glass when I'm doing torch-work as well as when I'm fusing glass in my kilns. We really appreciate your recommendation to your friends - it's greatly appreciated! We look forward to seeing you again!
V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My mother and I have stayed at Mornington Rose three times during our trips to Stratford, and each time we have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Victoria and Murray are gracious hosts, and the little touches they add to each room and to the common areas really set them apart from the other b&b's in town. Breakfasts are served with the utmost care and are always delicious. I have certain dietary restrictions that Victoria was kindly willing to accomodate, and she did so without sacrificing any of the flavor and charm that accompany each meal. Truly an excellent bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorningtonRose, Owner at Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! It's always great to have you and your Mom stay with us, and we're glad you keep coming back. Preparing an alternative meal for you is no problem at all - and you make it so much easier to accommodate your restrictions because I know in advance and can plan for you and other guests. Thank you for that - and we're looking forward to seeing you both again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 240 Mornington Street, Stratford, Ontario N5A 5G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome. A great night's sleep. And a scrumptious silver service breakfast. You'll get that and SO MUCH MORE in the perfect Stratford location just a short walk from the best restaurants, museums, galleries and entertainment. Our Victorian home features 4 bedrooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, bright common areas and veranda, a lovely garden with a pond and two gazebos for enjoying the roses that give our home its name. We're downtown Stratford’s popular alternative to a typical hotel room for quality accommodations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Rose Bed And Breakfast Stratford, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mornington Rose Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.