We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home a way from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birmingham Manor Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birmingham Manor Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Birmingham Manor Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
240 Birmingham Street, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2T5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Can.$20 per night!!
Ranked #1 of 92 Stratford B&B and Inns
Stoney Creek
1 review
“A home a way from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The ambiance , the hospitality, the meals, and Dom's and Elena's knowledge and enthusiasm for the theatrer, all made our stay so very pleasnt and enjoyable. There is no question that they are the perfect hosts, making us feel at home with their personal touch and attention to our comfort.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
159
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, On
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

On a getaway to see 42nd street and Pirates of Penzance in Stratford, we were delighted to stay at the incomparable Birmingham Manor. This bed and breakfast is located in a charming old Stratford mansion amidst well-manicured gardens. The hosts Elena and Dom are friendly and gracious and their breakfast is a gourmet treat. This was our second visit to Birmingham Manor but it won't be our last!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are fine but we always stay in the Sandringham.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronot
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

A couple of weekends ago we were guests at the Birmingham Manor in Stratford. It is a lovingly preserved, turn of the century home, beautifully decorated but not over-done. We immediately felt warmly and genuinely welcomed by gracious hosts, Elena and Dom whose enthusiasm was infectious. It did not take long to realize that this was a vocation born of their passion - at the same time, they were discrete and we felt that we had the place to ourselves. Our meal was surprisingly creative and delicious, everything having a slightly different twist which made it so memorable. We were so taken with the place that we almost forgot that Stratford is the town for wonderful theatre. We are certain to return to Birmingham Manor!

Room Tip: The room with the bathroom a few steps away (all the others have ensuite bathrooms) is the best kept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We discovered Birmingham Manor in an Internet search after deciding to extend our visit to Stratford and stay overnight following a preview matinee performance of 42nd Street (a must see show by the way). What a great choice! The Manor is a beautiful old Stratford mansion conveniently located in an old downtown neighbourhood -- the turn-of-the 20th Century detail lovingly preserved. Hosts Elena and Dom are terrific -- really nice people. We had some great chats with them during our visit. They clearly love what they are doing -- and it shows in the details and their personal warmth. Our room was nicely decorated and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast too was thoughtfully prepared, nicely presented -- and delicious. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

In early March 2012 , I spent a perfect weekend away from the big city relaxing and recharging at the Birmingham Manor. For this visit (my second) I chose the Sandringham, it's now my favourite room! It's spacious, very comfortable and elegant. Great accommodations, excellent food and lovely hosts. "Thank You Dom and Elena for making me feel totally pampered!"
I'll definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed at Birmingham Manor at the end of March (2012), and had a fantastic time. Though it was prior to the start of the Shakespeare Festival, we wanted a quiet quaint place to get away and celebrate a birthday. The hosts were very personable, and we connected with them right away. We immediately felt that we were not just customers, but friends. We were provided with lots of information regarding things to do in the area, and recommendations on sights to see.
The attention to every detail and aspect of our stay was beyond compare. The stunning historical touches in the house are all perfectly maintained and greatly enhance the pleasure of a stay there. Extra little touches like desserts for later in the day, extra food for walks around town, and helping to celebrate a birthday were taken note of and really made the difference. When we go back to Stratford we would not dream of staying anywhere else.
The breakfasts were healthy, delicious and delightful, the courses kept coming and we had all we could want. Every detail from the garnish to the place settings to the combinations of courses was appealing to the eye and mouth-watering.The Sandringham bedroom was quaint and spacious, the bathroom clean and well-kept.
We can not recommend this place highly enough, and can not say enough good things about it. It exceeded all of our expectations. We thoroughly enjoyed getting to know Elena and Dom, and loved sharing pictures and stories throughout our few days in Stratford. It was a joy to exchange pictures about our mutual love of (and experiences in) Cuba!

We miss the meringues!!!

Room Tip: We only stayed in the Sandringham room. We saw the others, and they all look just as nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed here in early December while in town for the Blue Rodeo show. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. They really know how to make you feel comfortable. The rooms are beautiful and spacious and the entire home is lovingly decorated and cared for. They served a gourmet breakfast that just kept coming! It was delicious as were the pastries and treats they gave us to take home. Elena and Dom really enjoy what they are doing and it shows. We enjoyed talking with them and we hope to come back soon. We would highly recommend staying here. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birmingham Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birmingham Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 240 Birmingham Street, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2T5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birmingham Manor is a beautiful Heritage Mansion in Stratford, Ontario Canada. We are within walking distance to the city centre. Stratford is only 1.5 hrs from Toronto and 45 min. from Lake Huron. Our rooms are beautiful and comfortable and we serve a great breakfast! We also specialize in vegetarian meals and vegan baking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birmingham Manor Bed And Breakfast Stratford, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birmingham Manor Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.