We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B in Stratford (or Niagara) I've Ever Experienced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Spruce B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blue Spruce B&B
Save
You added The Blue Spruce B&B to your Saves list
297 Erie Street, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2N1, Canada (Formerly Erie Street Bed & Breakfast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 92 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Frankfort, Michigan
1 review
“Best B & B in Stratford (or Niagara) I've Ever Experienced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our hosts, MIchael and Helene, made this an exceptionally memorable stay: rooms-super comfortable with supplies including coffee machine and T.V; gourmet breakfasts, featuring home-made jams, made to suit individual preferences and dietary restrictions; advice and directions to points of interest in Stratford--which led to superb and reasonably priced restaurants. We were treated like personal friends, even to the point of gifting us with a snack of lovely warm banana bread for the trip home!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Mary-Lee... It was our great pleasure to have you as our guests! It is always fun for us when we host such nice people as yourselves and I can assure you we enjoyed your visit at least as much as you did! We would very much like to visit with you again, so please keep us in mind for your next visit to our wonderful city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
89
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here August 14-17, and we had a wonderful time! The room was very comfortable and the gourmet breakfasts were delicious. Michael and Helene are warm and gracious hosts who make every effort to ensure that their guests feel welcome and well cared for. There were many thoughtful details (thorough information package, tasty treats, helpful tips and recommendations, the lounge) which made it a highlight of our trip. We look forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: Violet Penny room was very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We had such a delightful time hosting you. We are so pleased we were able to help make your stay in beautiful Stratford, Ontario such a good one. It would be our pleasure to host you again, so please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Start with a 100+ year old house loving restored and add wonderful hospitality and you have a real winner. Michael and Helen are wonderful friendly hosts. They have added every modern amenities but kept the old house warmth and charm intact. The rooms are are exceedingly well appointed plus non-charge coffee, water, snacks, etc.. Great breakfast and conversation. Easy walking distance to everything. We were sent on our way home with homemade banana bread to snack on. Yum! We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: For ultra-quiet rooms, ask for the side or rear rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
"Fuzzy" ... it was our pleasure to host you, your sister and your mom. A truly wonderful visit! We would be delighted to host you again and are very much looking forward to your next visit to the magical Festival City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to Michael and Helen for a wonderful stay. The food, the ambiance, the advice and accommodation to each guest's idiosyncrasies and wants makes for a memorable stay. Thank you for both delicious breakfasts ( a to go Sack was perfect for an early tee time). Their hospitality will make your Stratford experience top notch. Stay here and your vacation/holiday will be long remembered. Thanks again

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Judith... We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We really did enjoy your visit and hope you had a great game of golf on the way out of town. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Have been going to Stratford annually since 2001 & The Blue Spruce is by far the best B&B in town. Would not consider staying anywhere else. Location is excellent & within easy walking distance from the downtown area. Hosts Michael & Helene Byrnes are extremely accommodating and go out of their way to ensure each guest has a pleasant stay. The breakfasts are varied and always delicious -- be sure you are hungry in the morning as the portions are generous as well!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Judy... it was absolutely wonderful hosting you and your friends again this year! We are so glad we "inherited" all of you when we bought the property. It is always fun when you return to our lovely city and we are already very much looking forward to your 2014 visit. See you then!

PS... Dexter and Dixie say "Hello!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved our stay at the Blue Spruce! After our first breakfast, Michael drove us around town and showed us where everything is located. This helped us greatly when we set out on our bikes for some exercise -- much needed after the wonderful breakfasts!
Michael was kind enough to lend us a safe place for the bikes, to make dinner reservations for us and to join us for a cocktail at the appropriate hour.
Helene and Michael are great hosts and really know how to run a first rate B&B. It was a pleasure staying there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Myra and Mike... Thank you for taking the time to review us. We enjoyed your visit with us and would love to host you again - assuming Mike feels like driving, that is :} We are very pleased we were able to help make your Stratford visit such a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have stayed at many B&B's over the years and few have inspired me to rate them on tripadvisor. What made this one different? Michael and Helene - the inn keepers of the Blue Spruce.

Sure their B&B was comfortable, clean and welcoming. The location was fine - not perfect - but close enough to walk everywhere. The beds were wonderful, the rooms quiet and charming and the breakfasts delicious.

But it is Michael and Helene's embracing warmth that make one's stay at the Blue Spruce the wonderful experience it is. From the dinner reservations that were perfect right down to the bag of warm home-baked banana bread for our ride back to the airport, these two know how to make a guest feel like a welcomed relative.

Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Rona... We had such a lovely visit with you, Sammy and Eva. It really was our pleasure to be your hosts and to help make your visit to beautiful Stratford such a pleasant one. We would love for you to return for another visit one day, and to bring the girls with you. Dexter and Dixie tell me to say "Hi!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blue Spruce B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Spruce B&B

Address: 297 Erie Street, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2N1, Canada (Formerly Erie Street Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, fully renovated heritage mansion featuring new pillow-top mattresses, HD satellite TVs, iPod stereos and Tassimo coffee makers in each guest room. Three rooms have en-suites, one has a private washroom. All showers have massage shower heads and quality soaps and lotions. Beautifully appointed formal dining room and Library on main floor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Blue Spruce B&B Stratford, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Spruce B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.