We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Spruce B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Blue Spruce B&B
Save
You added The Blue Spruce B&B to your Saves list
297 Erie Street, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2N1, Canada (Formerly Erie Street Bed & Breakfast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 90 Stratford B&B and Inns
Embro ON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Had a wonderful visit at the Blue Spruce...Mike and Helene were excellent hosts...fantastic food and lovely up to date accomodations. Will certainly go back to this B+B. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
89
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Marea and Colin are fabulous hosts and know when to allow privacy and when to be sociable. We have stayed with them several times over the past 5 years and have always been extremely pleased with our rooms, the service and as somebody else already pointed out the breakfasts are truly superb.
It is a bit of a walk to downtown though (about 15 minutes).
Otherwise, I totally and highly recommend it!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

This was a nice B & B. We had no complaints about the house, or the room. The breakfast was top drawer. With fresh fruit, scones, cinnamon pancakes with real maple syrup (very key).

The only thing I can fault is the location, as Erie is a rather busy street. We did not hear the street noise in our room, but taking a stroll after dinner here, is not nearly as nice as doing it at another B & B I stayed at that was along the river.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MByrnes99, Owner at The Blue Spruce B&B, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
This review has nothing whatsoever to do with The Blue Spruce B&B on Erie. Their was another B&B on this property prior to when we purchased it, which no longer exists in any way. We have completely rebranded this B&B under a new name and with extensive renovations and upgrades. This review, therefore - and any others prior to October, 2011 - simply do not reflect The Blue Spruce at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

Our two day stay at the Erie Street B & B was delightful. Colin and Marea Thomson made us very welcome, and Marea's breakfasts were terrific! We had a late change in the room requirements and they were accommodated quickly. We plan to stay again the next time we are in Stratford.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blue Spruce B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Spruce B&B

Address: 297 Erie Street, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2N1, Canada (Formerly Erie Street Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, fully renovated heritage mansion featuring new pillow-top mattresses, HD satellite TVs, iPod stereos and Tassimo coffee makers in each guest room. Three rooms have en-suites, one has a private washroom. All showers have massage shower heads and quality soaps and lotions. Beautifully appointed formal dining room and Library on main floor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Blue Spruce B&B Stratford, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Spruce B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.