We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rene's Bistro

Rene's Bistro
20 Wellington Street | 1-877-508-1777, Stratford, Ontario N5A 2L2, Canada
(519) 508-1777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 114 Restaurants in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We love eating at Rene's. Marguerite is our favorite waitress and salmon is our favorite entree. We definitely recommend the spinach salad and also enjoy the penne dish. It's convenient for productions at the Studio and the Avon but we go out of our way for dinner at Rene's Bistro.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    55
    23
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsville
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“So-So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

My companion and I dined at Rene's last night and were a little disappointed. The service is very friendly, although we had to remind our server that she had neglected to bring our drinks. We ordered our drinks, appetizers, and entrees all at the same time; and she was clearing our appetizer dishes when we reminded her we hadn't received our drinks. As for the drinks themselves, I was unimpressed with the wine list. There were only two white wines from Ontario available by the glass - a Sauvignon Blanc from Pelee Island, and a Cave Springs Riesling. There were NO red wines from Ontario available by the glass. The remainder of the wine list was uninspired. As for food, the companion's gnocchi was good but not wonderful. I ordered a vegetable tart. The dish looked pretty, but it was not at all what I was expecting. It was served with the oven roasted potatoes on the bottom, cut in half, with the cut sides down. A thick layer of puff pastry was placed on top of the potatoes. On top of the puff pastry were some roasted tomatoes, olive tapenade and three slices of brie. Admittedly, the dish contained everything that the menu said it would. I did, however, expect that there were be some vegetables layered in the vegetable tart. I certainly expected to see some vegetables in addition to the tomato (and the potato, if you want to count that). Additionally, I felt that the flavor of the olive tapenade overpowered the tomato and brie. We have dined at this restaurant in the past and had a better experience. Would we return? Probably, but not right away.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Rene's Bistro was rated No. 1 in Stratford on Trip Advisor so we added it to our list. All four of us were disappointed. The gazpacho soup was tasteless, and we literally could not eat two of the pasta dishes. We compared it to our other Stratford restaurant choices ( Bistro, Raja, Keystone Alley, and Rundles), and would rate in far below the others. The space was crowded and rather uncomfortable as well. On the positive side, we were not charged for the two pasta entrees and the desserts were good.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
“A Nice Stop Before the Play”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Rene's Bistro is located a five minute stroll from Stratford's Avon Theatre, one of the key venues for the Stratford Festival. It is a fine restaurant, a little cramped for space but staffed by helpful and friendly people. Our food, from salads and mains to desert, was very good, service was prompt and effective, and we were out in plenty of time for the show. The menu is not overly extensive, but our trio (vegetarian, carnivore and omnivore0 had enough to choose from. Largely because of its location, Rene's Bistro is often very busy, so book ahead. For an update, pleasant atmospher and an above average meal, this place it worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“food was ... ok I guess”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Service was good - but the food was strange. My braised lamb shank had zero flavour (i dont even know how you do that) and a tasteless gelatinous gravy and my partner's smokey-salt crusted veal chop was so smokey it was like eating a slab of bacon. But they were friendly and quick - and maybe that's 90% of the battle in Stratford.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rene's Bistro also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Rene's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rene's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.