We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Befitting Rundles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sophisto-Bistro

Sophisto-Bistro
9 Cobourg Street, Stratford, Ontario N5A 1A1, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 114 Restaurants in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $32 - $40
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Rundles' Sophisto-Bistro will no longer be available. Rundles Restaurant will be open as usual, for our 39th season in Stratford, from May 22 to September 19, 2015. Cheers, The Rundles Team
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Befitting Rundles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Comparisons are inevitable with Rundles, a restaurant with a long-standing impeccable fine dining reputation, with prices to match, sharing the same building, and likely the same kitchen. The atmosphere at Sophisto-Bistro, a small intimate space, is more relaxed, but the menu and cooking leave nothing to be desired, and the prices are easily justified.
Our party had good things to say about the beef short ribs, and the hanger steak. Another plus was being within walking distance of our B&B.
Now having enjoyed meals in both restaurants, in my opinion, there is little to choose from between the two, except Rundles' ambience, ambitious menu, and beautiful view.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    9
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A first-rate meal at a first-rate price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Rundle's Bistro or Sophisto-Bistro is a lovely restaurant with delicious food (for the most part).
Service was incomparable-my meal was delicious-the heirloom tomato salad and shortribs recommended by the waiter without hesitation over my other consideration of the hangar steak.
My dining companion had the crabmeat which he felt was lacking and the Pickerel which was tasty. We skipped dessert as it added another 13.50 plus tax to the price of dinner-a steep price by ANY standard. (We dine out frequently in Chicago and London so we know pricey!)
The ambiance is wonderful. My only complaint here would be that the washrooms are up a steep flight of stairs.
All that being said would DEFINITELY consider a return on our next visit to Stratford.
PS It is also one of the homes of the Stratford Chefs School from Oct-Mar=lunch served 3 days a week.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good food at a price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Sophisto is a pleasant place to spend some time. It is part and parcel of Rundles so the space is sophisticated-modern although a bit chilly. The menue is seperate from Rundles, limited , prix fix
and relatively less costly. Still the meal cost a pretty penny! We had Avacado and crab as one appetizer and crab bisque as the other. The main courses were hanger steak and two stuffed eggplants. Eachwas very good. The service while good was less attentive than one might expect in such an expensive place. Could the Bistro be considered second class? Who knows. All in all very good but perhaps a bit too expensive given some excellent alternatives.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Some problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We've had excellent meals at Rundles in the past, so we decided to try the Bistro. We were seated after the pre-theater crowd, as we had been to theater in the afternoon and had the evening free. We ordered a bottle of the house red. It was vinegary, spoiled, and we sent it back and ordered a bottle off of the wine menu which was only OK, and not worth the price. The appetizers were good, the charcuterie meats were extremely fatty, however. The two women in our group shared the $15/person extra angus rib steak. The cooked steak was presented to them before slicing on a platter as if it were a trophy. Expectations were high. When sliced, the flavor was good and it was cooked medium-rare as ordered, but it was quite tough! The braised short ribs were tender and good. Dessert cheeses were excellent. All in all, a mixed review. It's not as expensive as Rundles but it's not cheap, and you can do better for this price point.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R M, Public Relations Manager at Sophisto-Bistro, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear vpoleshuck:

We have "some problems" with your review.

Sorry you did not like your experience, but, we cannot understand your P.O.V. We recommend you dine elsewhere in future.

Cheers,

The Rundles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Every dish we had was fantastic. If your are a foodie this is the place you should go. The service was good, the food was exquisite, it would rate high even in a high end city restaurant market. It's pricey for sure, but if you want fantastic food food and service in Stratford this is the place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R M, Public Relations Manager at Sophisto-Bistro, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Paul H.,

Thank you very much for dining with us at Sophisto-Bistro.

Your positive review is duly noted and appreciated by all of us here. We are a "foodie" restaurant of note in Stratford and area; we are very proud of the work we do each service, each season. It is nice to receive such positive recognition and support from Trip Advisor members like you.

We look forward to seeing you again in future. Until then, dine and drink well!

Cheers,

The Rundles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophisto-Bistro also viewed

Stratford, Ontario
 

Been to Sophisto-Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sophisto-Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.