We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage Family restaurant. A good value place to eat.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Family Restaurant

Heritage Family Restaurant
123 Geneva Street, St. Catharines, Ontario L2R 4N3, Canada (York - Haig)
905-688-4387
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 327 Restaurants in St. Catharines
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: York - Haig
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Heritage Family restaurant. A good value place to eat.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Heritage is a big warehouse brick building, It used to be a striptease bar, you can tell once inside. It now has a fun decor, many unusual interesting antiques and statues, It is billed as a family restaurant so be prepared for lots of kids. The service is good, they could hire more servers though as they are needed, but the ones they have do work hard and are very busy looking after everyone. The food is good and a good value. It is handicap accessible which is great. Front parking lot is small but you can park around the building. They seem to have a lot of specials so check the board as you enter.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    2
    5
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good family spot with great people, service and food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

One of the hidden gems en route from other touristy traps in the niagara vincinity. Definite worth repeat visits! Beef steaks were great tasting, reasonably priced (at the price you'd buy your slab of raw rib eye at the super market) the soups were a little salty but everything else was great. We had the rib eye with mash potatoes $15), sirloin with lobster ($19.90),kids meals ($5.99) service was great and ambience was a little quaint and a little dated but still superbly comfy....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst decision ever to come here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

If anyone is EVER considering going to the Heritage Restaurant on Geneva St., don't. They have the worst server there, Davey who has the worst attitude. I went with my parents for Mother's Day. He was curt, and short clipped answers. Forgot to bring a salad that was ordered. We got the surf n turf special. When asked how the meal is, we said it would have been nice to have a tender lobster tail and a hot steak. The waiter answered YOU DID! And walks away. Who does that?!? Seriously?! How can people like this keep a job... It'd been 5 years since our last bad experience there. No more chances. There are nicer restaurants to go to around here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill,on
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We ate here with a group of 11, a mixture of adults and kids. No one was thrilled with the food. My son who eats everything did to eat his meatball. When I told the waiter it smelled funny (freezer burn) he disagreed and did to even apologize. He did offer us another one....NO thanks! I on the other hand ordered the chilli and as we'll as disappointed. It was a bowl of tough ground beef with a few beans and some spices. Dry and not what chilli should be. Tim Hortons serves a better bowl of chilli. I can go on but I think this should be enough to keep people from going there. If you enjoy good fresh food this I'd definitely NOT the place to go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One off my favorite places.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Breakfast, lunch or dinner..I know if I go to the heritage I'm getting quality homecooked food that doesn't cost a fortune! The place is amazing...the history and atmosphere give u a feeling u should experience for yourself. The staff r friendly very good at others jobs. I know I will continue to be a happy customer of the heritage as long .as it's up and running!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Family Restaurant also viewed

St. Catharines, Ontario
St. Catharines, Ontario
 
St. Catharines, Ontario
 

Been to Heritage Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.