We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch Buffet Was a Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lina Linguini's-Pasta Grill

Lina Linguini's-Pasta Grill
111 Fourth Ave, St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada
905-984-5462
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 341 Restaurants in St. Catharines
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Welland, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Lunch Buffet Was a Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My whole family met at Lina Linguini's for my birthday a couple of weeks ago and were surprised to learn after being seated, that they only serve the buffet until a certain time (I think it was 3:00?) and we could not order off the menu. Being that it was only 1pm and we were starving, we decided to take a look, and were pleasantly surprised with the selection.
They had a pasta bar, where a server would whip up a pasta dish for you with any of the displayed ingredients you wanted. You got to chose between 2 types of pasta noodles and 2 sauces. There was still bacon, eggs, waffles and hashbrowns to eat if you were feeling more like brunch, as well as a selection of salads, pizzas, veggie dishes, a variety of meats, and potatoes.
The dessert table was a nice spread as well, including different kinds of delicious cupcakes, brownies, a variety of cheesecakes and squares.
We were all pretty dissapointed in the beginning, and even contemplated leaving, however, after staying and trying various dishes from the buffet menu, we all ended up leaving very satisfied and full! Not bad at all....give it a try!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    32
    13
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food was just okay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I had the veal parm on a bun. It was really dry. The garden salad was good. The waitress was not very attentive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Used to be a place for a great Italian meal.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had not been to Lina Linguini's for a few years, so we were both quite eager to have one of their excellent Italian meals we remembered from our past visits. OOPS - What happened to our wonderful Italian restaurant? It was not the same. My meal was a barely adequate tasting pasta dish, while my guest's eggplant parmigian was burnt. Enough said. There are a number of other and better Italian restaurants in St. Catharines. We don't need to go back to this one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorold, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pricey but OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We've been before, last Xmas, and had our office Xmas dinner here. It was pretty good. We thought we'd give it another try and found it just OK. The food was good & tasty, the portions were OK, not enormous and the prices were a little steep. Honestly there's better Italian restaurants around and worse one too. The atmosphere is kind of nice and the place is clean and well kept. I really don't think, though, that it's good value for your buck. Better than East-side's though.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“ROMPER ROOM!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Where to start???
Started out good, but went down hill very quickly!!!
Went there on a Friday night about 8pm with my Boyfriend... we had a 15-20 minute wait. We didn't mind, we took a seat ay the bar and had a Strawberry Daiquiri. After about 25 minutes we got a seat stuck in a small corner in the ROMPER ROOM!!! This section was full of kids, literally screaming so loud we couldn't hear our server telling us the specials. We both got the Ceasar salad which was very soggy..Yuck!! My boyfriend got the Blackened Cod Filet special...very disappointing!! Cod filet was filled with bones, and the potion of the plate was small. I ordered the Mushroom Ravioli Marsala...looked good, but I literally only had one bite...and couldn't eat it. For some reason this dish was so sweet I could not eat it. When the bill arrive, our server did not remove the item...and my boyfriend was shocked his special was $29.00, definitely not worth it...Thank God for the Daiquiri's, they were the best part of the meal. We will not be returning, not impressed...Over priced, too many screaming kids!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lina Linguini's-Pasta Grill also viewed

 
St. Catharines, Ontario
St. Catharines, Ontario
 

Been to Lina Linguini's-Pasta Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lina Linguini's-Pasta Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.