We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quickly getting worse” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Raw Fish

Raw Fish
210 Glendale Ave., St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada
905.688.9012
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 327 Restaurants in St. Catharines
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quickly getting worse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited this establishment many times since opening and always happy with our visits. It was really the best all you can eat sushi place around. But recently something has changed with quality of food and service.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great all you can eat sushi @ a low price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My fiancee and I have been going to this sushi place now for the past year. We have been to many sushi restaurants and myself working in Toronto I have been to many higher end ones. This restaurant for the price beats every one I have been to. For $14 all you can eat lunch or $19 dinner, how can you beat that when it comes to sushi?!

Food- The food is ALWAYS fresh. If ever something comes out and does not meet your expectations, just ask. They are more than happy to rectify it for you.

Establishment- Very clean, lots of sitting room. For a sushi place around this area it does not have much to compare to. At these prices for sushi you can't expect a 5 star keg style dinning experience.

Service- Service is exceptional. They are always walking by asking how everything is and if we need anything. There is not one server sectioned to tables which is nice. Any server is more than willing to help if anything is requested.

We now make this restaurant a weekly visit as we both love sushi and our schedules are so hectic it's hard to find time to cook. The servers have become acquainted with us and really go the extra mile to make sure we are happy. We love the simple smiles, hellos/goodbyes from the servers and the cooks, simple yet very welcoming.

A big thank you to the chefs who know us and our order now and have our favorite rolls at our table before we even get water given to us!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notl
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Japanese ish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

great food, everything hot and fresh
very friendly staff
$13.98 all you can eat but not buffet
everything cooked to order except rice rolls
I'll be back!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The food here wasn't tasty. My brother ordered the sweet and sour chicken which tasted bland, so he only ate two bites of it. Even the server tried it and agreed that wasn't how it was supposed to be, but left it on the bill. The sushi was mediocre and even the salmon sashimi had no real flavor to it.

The server was attentive but the food isn't worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
“Not impressed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We arrived a few minutes late for the lunch menu, so we had to pay dinner price to start off with. Even though the restaurant was empty. We stayed because my neice wanted sushi for her birthday. Already not impressed, our waiter was horrible. He was not attentive, did not ask us if we would like anything else. It seemed as if they were changing shifts and we were inconveniencing them. The food was mediocre at best. But the service turned me off ever coming back to this restaurant. Not good value. And the rotten asain elevator music was too loud for us to talk.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raw Fish also viewed

St. Catharines, Ontario
St. Catharines, Ontario
 
St. Catharines, Ontario
St. Catharines, Ontario
 

Been to Raw Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raw Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.