We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tall Ships trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines to your Saves list
Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Ontario Street | Queen Elizabeth Hwy Exit 47, St. Catharines, Ontario L2R 5M1, Canada (Formerly Travelodge St. Catharines)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Tall Ships trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed 2 nites at this hotel as we found it to be the best price and location. We were there to see the Redpath Tall Ships in Port Dalhousie. Also went to some wineries and the Welland Canal Museum. This hotel was clean and close to the QEW. We went next door to the Restaurant and mentioned we were staying next door got a discount and the meal was terrific! We had breakfast and coffee and both we fine provided at the hotel. Small pool not terribly clean but only sat beside it. For the price we felt it was good value and the front desk person was very helpful and nice.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms seemed to be updated and we stayed in one on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review. Wow we are so glad you spent your time wisely and got to see so much on your short trip to St Catharines. We are truly located in a very ideal location (off of the QEW and Ontario Street) Port Dalhousie, the Welland Canals and many wineries are located within a 5-10 min vicinity. We believe in good value, meaning clean comfortable and affordable rates for all of our guests. I’m happy to hear you took advantage of our morning breakfast and enjoyed your dinner at the restaurant. We believe in great service and great value and work with businesses that provide similar values. We at Canadas Best Value Inn are very pleased to hear that you had a great time with us and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    30
    12
    15
    8
See reviews for
26
19
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kincardine, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The front desk lady was very pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The downside is that the property needs a lot of updating. It was the best price I could find in the area and overall it was an adequate accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you Larry for your Trip Advisor review. Our staff at Canadas Best Value Inn is very friendly, accommodating and helpful. We do not treat our guests as guests but try and build a long term relationship and friendship with them. I am very pleased to hear that they were able to give you the service you experienced. I am also pleased to hear that you were happy with the room rate you were charged. I will agree with you that the property has become a bit dated but I am also pleased to say that we are in the process of a huge ongoing renovation. The renovations had began but due to a very busy summer were put on hold but have began again this October. I hope we will see you again and the next time you come to stay with us we will greet you with the same service and a newly upgraded room.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario,Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night as a family! It is easy to get to off of the QEW and close to restaurants. The motel itself needs updating. The room was clean but dated. It was interesting to see a beer bottle opener attached to the bathroom vanity as that goes back to the 70's before we had twist off caps on our beer! My teen son had never seen anything like it and thought it was quite fascinating! The AC worked great. The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating! We came in late at night and there were several webs and bugs hanging in front of our door when we came back. The breakfast room was busy in the morning but we went to the nearby Tim's and McDonalds for people in our party. A great find was a beautiful beach, village and picnic area on Lake Ontario only a five minute drive from this Inn in Port Dalhousie! Wi-fi worked good! Good if you want a basic no-frills motel for fairly cheap! We paid $112. a night. The $59.95 per night advertised on the sign is for staying more than four nights during the week!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This property used to be a Travelodge, and before that, it was The Highwayman Inn. It has been over 10 years since our last visit, and things have changed.

I had a nice discussion with the new management, and they seemed to be quite enthusiastic about their new property and talked a lot about all the renovations they had planned, some of which have already begun.

The location of this hotel is perfect, right off the highway, and close to everything.

Our room was clean, bed comfortable, and the staff were very nice. We did not have the complimentary breakfast, but others said it was good. The price was very reasonable for a St. Catharines hotel at the start of a long holiday weekend. (Civic Holiday)

The hotel in general is starting to look very tired, but I was told that that the renovations are ongoing and the improvements will keep coming. I look forward to returning for a couple of nights again in a year or two, to see how they are progressing.

This is a good place to stay, if you are looking for a clean room, a comfortable bed, and want to save a few bucks.

Room Tip: Your best view would be second floor overlooking the pool. A bit less noise from the highway, and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed here recently with my family. On the plus side, the rates were very reasonable, the staff was very friendly, the location is right on the QEW, the pool was clean and well maintained. But on the downside, the hotel was jammed full, our room although clean and no bed bugs (someone in our party works in social housing and is a bed bug expert) was in need or repair (putting it charitably). The stairs were dirty, the doors between the sections of the motel always slammed shut. The room itself was clean, but there were strange stains on the walls of the washroom and the room itself, the decor was old and very well used, there were chips out of the door. The deadbolt was not there on the door, the door itself would push open unless slammed shut. The toilet was an old style toilet which was good, because I knew how to remove the lid and stop it from running all the time. I haven't stayed at a motel this beat up in quite a while. I'm guessing you can do better if your staying in this area. I will upload some photos I took and you can judge for yourself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in this motel over the weekend. It's an older property that has seen years of travelers passing through. The decor is a bit outdated and what not, however the room was bright, tidy, the beds were very comfortable and sheets clean.The staff is very accommodating and friendly. Breakfast was basic but appealing. The pool was great! This place is perfect for travelers who aren't expecting the Ritz on a budget...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Some how my post was put on the wrong hotel. Let's try this again....We recently stayed at this hotel while visiting the area. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the pool was a wonderful escape from this dreadful heat! It is tucked into a corner of the property making one forget that they are beside a major highway and street! The coffee at breakfast was amazing, and the front desk staff so friendly and accommodating. The girl at the desk knew how to get pretty much anywhere in the area. That was impressive as everyone relies on GPS now a days to get around. We will be back for sure next time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines

Address: 420 Ontario Street | Queen Elizabeth Hwy Exit 47, St. Catharines, Ontario L2R 5M1, Canada (Formerly Travelodge St. Catharines)
Location: Canada > Ontario > St. Catharines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge St. Catharines Hotel St. Catharines
St. Catharines Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge St. Catharines
Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.