We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Catharines ON” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn St Catharines Niagara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn St Catharines Niagara to your Saves list
Days Inn St Catharines Niagara
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Meadowvale Drive | Lake St and QEW, St. Catharines, Ontario L2N 3Z8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
Ilderton ON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“St Catharines ON”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

.Great service for check in. Clean. No issues experienced. Call to main booking to confirm late arrival which worked great. A/C a little noisy but overall a good stay. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inncredibly-niagara, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn St Catharines Niagara, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you! It is always great to hear from our guests - we appreciate all your comments. Hope to see you again real soon!

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
27
14
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Driving up to the hotel, I was a little worried about what we were in for. The outside was pretty rundown. I generally research hotels very thoroughly before booking. This time, however, as part of a group the hotel had been chosen for us. We were pleasantly surprised upon entering. The lobby was clean and relatively modern. The front desk staff were pleasant and checked us in quickly. The room was relatively clean. It had the basics that we needed. Two queen beds, a television, a small refrigerator and a coffee maker. Some of the decor could use updating but it was fine for what we needed.

This hotel is attached to a brand new gym that hotel guests are welcome to use. My husband used it twice and only had good things to say about it. The crossfit obstacle course only ran on Saturday during the day, but the line up was huge, so he never had a chance to try it out.

The pool was fine. It has a larger deck area around it, which is nice when there gets to be a bunch of kids in the pool and the splashes start to get bigger. There was also a sauna there, but we did not use it. The towels were stored in the locker room instead of in the pool area, which was odd, but we eventually found them.

Parking was free and we never had an issue finding a spot.

We used the wi-fi and found it to be fine for what we needed.

The cleaning staff was friendly and very accommodating.

We were disappointed that no breakfast was included, but we knew that when we booked.

I would stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inncredibly-niagara, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn St Catharines Niagara, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent visit with us at the Days Inn Hotel. We appreciate all your comments! Glad to learn that you had a pleasant experience and you were able to experience most of the hotel amenities. Energy Fitness Studio just opened the obstacle course that Saturday thus the line ups - but hope to see you again in the near future - when you plan to visit us again, please contact us directly at 905-704-5656 or via email at reservations@honhotels.com and ask for the bed & breakfast rate, this will ensure you get breakfast with your room.

Thanks again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here Saturday night. The room was clean and tidy. We went to the pool, there is also a sauna. My boyfriend enjoyed the pool and was really excited about the patio with monkey bars, an obstacle course and various crossfit type equipment. He went to explore it but we noticed the next morning that you are not supposed to access it unless there is a scheduled class.
We were on the first floor in one of the rooms that adjoin another, separated by a locked door between the two. We could hear our neighbours chatting through the door upon arrival but did not hear them afterwards or overnight. We slept fine but the pillows were really thick, firm and kind of uncomfortable for us.
Parking was included as well as wifi, but the connection was pretty terrible so we didn't use it, opted to use the data on our phones instead.
Reception was friendly. Overall this was a very average stay, the hotel does have a nice gym attached to it, but the price was probably double what I would usually pay for a basic hotel. I guess it's the location and we did book last minute.
The location is very good, very close to many restaurants and right off of the QEW, so that was a plus. It was only a short drive to NOTL.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inncredibly-niagara, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn St Catharines Niagara, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent visit with us. We truly appreciate your candid comments and am confident that visitors do too! We are looking into the wireless internet situation that you are referring too and appreciate you bringing this to our attention - wish I could of had the opportunity during your stay. Your comments help us rectify our short comings and enable us to strive to serve you better.

Once again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Positives - the location is perfect for a fishing excursion out of Port Dalhousie, hotel is close to restaurants (Kelsey's) and a Shoppers Drug Mart, sleep quality was okay and the beds were comfy for a Days Inn

Negatives - Hotel is dated and needs some TLC however everything worked! Cost of the room was over priced for the area, we could have gotten a nicer room in Niagara Falls for the same price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inncredibly-niagara, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn St Catharines Niagara, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are always delighted to hear from our guests. Your feedback both good and otherwise help us identify our short comings and honour our teams where we succeed. It is always disappointing to learn when one of our guests does not have the experience we strive for on a daily basis. However, I want to ensure you that your comments are shared with our teams in order to improve where we fell short for the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We returned from a wedding reception about 10:30 p.m. and found a man leaving our room and our room keys did not work. Front desk said it was a "glitch" - we are fortunate the person mistakenly given the key to our room was an honest guy and didn't rob us. I mentioned it when we checked out and didn't receive so much as an "I'm sorry". Will never stay at a Days Inn again. Also, when I made the reservation in March, the person who answered the phone was brand new and didn't have basic information; had to call back the next day. Room was noisy; could hear the walkie talkie chatter during the day from the car lot adjacent to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you are touring the Niagara Region whether it be the numerous well known local vineyards or the world renown Niagara Falls, this hotel is situated in a great location (right off the QEW), within a short driving distance of all the tourist attractions. We arrived earlier then we expected with the hope that we could check in because we had to change for a wedding reception. The front desk staff were very friendly and professional and were able to accommodate us immediately. Our room was pleasantly appointed, clean and comfortable with a pleasant view. There was a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker and two queen beds with firm mattresses, just the way we like them! I would definitely stay at this location again and/or recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inncredibly-niagara, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn St Catharines Niagara, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Joanne, thank you for sharing your stay with us and all the complimentary comments. It was our pleasure having you stay with us! We look forward to your return!

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had come here to visit Niagara Falls and stayed in this hotel for two days. Though it was located a bit far away from the falls, this is a decent small hotel and suits well for families unless one wish to stay near the falls. The hotel has many good restaurants for breakfast and dinner located just adjacent to it. We were charged 119 dollars per day plus taxes with free wi fi. Rooms were not very big but comfortable. Overall we had value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inncredibly-niagara, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn St Catharines Niagara, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Days Inn Hotel property - we appreciate all your feedback and hope to see you again in the near future!

Most Sincerely,

Ann Marie Nitsopoulos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn St Catharines Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn St Catharines Niagara

Address: 89 Meadowvale Drive | Lake St and QEW, St. Catharines, Ontario L2N 3Z8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > St. Catharines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn St Catharines Niagara 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Days Inn Hotel property is unique to the Days Inn Brand as it has a large Fitness Studio accessible on property for guest use. The Fitness Studio provides full access to hotel guests travelling - which include yoga, box fit, speed cycling classes and so much more! The hotel has an indoor pool along with an ultra red steam sauna and Perkins Family Restaurant on site. A short driving distance to 20 Valley Wine Country, Niagara on the Lake or Niagara Falls. Immediately accessible off the QEW travelling either from Toronto, On or Buffalo, NY. Truly the corner of convenience, comfort and value. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Days Inn Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Days Inn St Catharines Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn St Catharines Niagara Hotel St. Catharines
Howard Johnson St. Catharines
St. Catharines Howard Johnson
Days Inn St Catharines Niagara St. Catharines, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn St Catharines Niagara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.