We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here - for the Falls, Shaw Festival, whatever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capri Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Capri Inn to your Saves list
Capri Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   391 Ontario St, St. Catharines, Ontario L2R5L3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Pastries & Juice
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Stay here - for the Falls, Shaw Festival, whatever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We picked Capri Inn for our recent visit to Niagara Falls, coming home from other points in Canada. The reviews on TA were very good, and we senior citizens found that August room rates at Niagara Falls were just too high on the weekend.

This property shows you what an independent motel can do when the operator really cares - don't pass them up for the biggie chain places, because they do everything right!

Mary and Teddy are super helpful and friendly; the latter should get a commendation from the Canadian Tourist Bureau, as he is an enthusiastic booster for Canada as a travel destination. The property location, at exit 47 off the QEW, is impossible to miss. You might think it could have highway noise issues, but this place is incredibly soundproof. It is spotless, and is in excellent repair.

This motel may be an older property - who knows? - but is so well maintained, that you can't guess when it was built.

My husband especially liked the cubbies for stashing stuff near the room door, and the drain mat for your cooler.

The only improvement that Capri Inn could make is to have brewed coffee with the continental breakfast foods. If one can't deal with making coffee with the supplies in the motel room, McDonald's and Tim Horton's are in walking distance.

We will be back next year, my husband and I are total fans of the Capri Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    90
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
78
104
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Wow, these people know how to run a hotel. I have to admit I was a little bit skeptical of the reviews on here because the price of the hotel was so reasonable. And lower priced hotels in the Niagara region usually mean bad things but this hotel was exceptional. It is immaculate, cleanliness is given serious attention. My room was very spacious with a double bed, sitting area and tons of storage area if you are staying awhile. The mattress is fantastic and the sheets were great. I know most hotels use a poly cotton blend of sheets because they are more durable for repeated washings but I hate the feel of them and these sheets felt more like cotton. There is a big tv and mini fridge. My room faced the parking lot which was ok because I like to see my car anyway. You can park right in front of your room. There is a walkway to get to the rooms with enough space to sit outside. The owners are incredibly friendly and helpful too. Excellent, excellent hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines Ontario Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Hi I am please to here the wonderful reviews of the Capri Hotel and Mary the owner. To be truthful I have never stayed here although I have lived in St. Catharines all my life. I have been by the Capri Hotel thousands of time and I have noticed how inviting it looks to stay there as a out of town guest or guests. Keep coming back to the Niagara area and the Capri Hotel. you will never be dissappointed. Oh and just one thing, The river behind the Motel is not a river but actually is called the Twelve Mile Creek.... Just thought I would clear that up for you all.

Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We had a lovely three night stay at the Capri Inn in St. Catharine's Ontario. The room is cozy, comfortable, cool and fresh. Thoughtful and useful items found in this inn were: many towel hooks for clothes and towels, a desk lamp with two plug-ins for charging phones etc., comfortable beds, new air conditioners that really cool the room, built in cubbies for guest items, and clean right down to corners and window sills. I highly recommend this hotel.
Mary M.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

The Capri Inn, is clean & spacious. Mary, the innkeeper is a lovely woman. I drove her crazy..lol and she put up with me.. What I liked about the Capri Inn is that you can park your car right outside your door.

There's nothing chic about the Capri Inn, but it's downhome feel surpasses chicness.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

This area has limited accommodation choices, so for the money, this is a good deal.

Rooms are clean and nice-sized. Bed was comfortable. Even though it's right next to the highway off-ramp, it was relatively quiet. The decor was a bit outdated, but not worn. The walls are concrete block, which sort of reminded me of a college dorm room, but they are cleanly painted.

Rooms have mini-fridge and free wi-fi. There is coffee and pastries available for breakfast, complimentary. Free parking.

For a 2-star accommodation, this property is well-maintained and a good value.

The hotel is shaped like an "L" and one side faces the river (which is actually quite pretty) and the other faces the parking lot. So, definitely ask for a river-facing room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, MI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

This hotel was by far the best in the area - a family reunion was being held in Saint Catharines and compared to the information from other family members staying at other hotels, we definitely made the best choice. The rooms are extremely clean (NO dust, mold, or bad scents) - everything smelled fresh and clean. There was plenty of room in the one-queen room which included: an entry way with large area to hang clothes, storage cubes, shoe tray, bathroom, sleeping area with bed, three chairs, table, couch, coffee table, bed-side table, and a refrigerator. There was a nice large TV with cable. The room was quiet and I could not hear noise from the adjoining rooms. There is a great view of the river out the window and the curtains kept out the light for day-time naps. The mattress was extremely comfortable (probably a memory foam type) and the pillows were substantial and comfy. The bathroom was clean, well stocked, and I loved that the sink was surrounded by counter-space where I could put my things as I used them. The decor is not necessarily my style but it was still well thought out and shows that someone put forth an effort to make it a nice place to stay. The property is nice with picnic benches and places to sit down and attractive landscaping. It's next to the expressway but there are plenty of trees and landscaping so it's still nice and didn't seem all that noisy to me (normally a concern for me but not an issue here). The staff were very helpful, friendly, and accomodating. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to others staying in the Saint Catharines area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capri Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Inn

Address: 391 Ontario St, St. Catharines, Ontario L2R5L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > St. Catharines
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Capri Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Niagara home away from home. Capri Inn, Hotel located in St Catharines, Ontario. Capri Inn will make every effort to make your stay with us pleasant, enjoyable and comfortable. All room 100% non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Capri Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel St. Catharines
Capri Inn St. Catharines, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capri Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.