We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh pasta, great salads, home made meatballs.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solo Trattoria

Solo Trattoria
250 Queen Street, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, Canada
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Fenelon Falls, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fresh pasta, great salads, home made meatballs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had a great meal here after spending the day on the Agawa Canyon train.

Both of us liked the salads, we were pleased that there was more than just lettuce. Fresh pasta cooked perfectly. The home made meatballs were tender and not full of filler. I wish I had ordered an additional side of them.

Large wine and beer selections to choose from.

Service was good, she was there at the right times.

But the best part is the fresh bread that comes with a whole head of baked garlic. Soft, flavorful, a great note in a good meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    29
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Atmosphere is wonderful. The menu is varied and we enjoyed our selections. The pasta was well cooked, salads were nicely dressed, and the vegetables were perfect. Wine selection was the best we've seen so far in Sault Ste. Marie.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Consider for your next get-together”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Recently co-hosted a baby shower at this restaurant. Staff were very friendly and accommodating, food very good - gourmet pizzas, fresh salad nicely dressed, and # of guests especially enjoyed the stuffed mushroom appetizer. We had about 45 in the 2 rooms. Had to move around a bit so everyone could see opening of gifts, but generally the rooms accommodated our group. Reasonably priced. Thank you!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Decent pizza. Overpriced. Was charged for caesar salad when the waitress said it came with the meal. Pretty authentic italian food.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional meal with Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

What a spendid jewell among restaurants! My extensive travel in Ontario and Atlantic Canada provides difficulty in achieving an unforgetable meal, but this restaurant deserves top rating - from a scale of 1 to 10, Solo Trafforia rates a 15. The rack of lamb, vegetables, angel pasta with ceasar salad was hot, prepared well and absolutely delicious!

I will be back and recommend this restaurant, as the ambiance with soft music even permits conversation without having to raise your voice! Ask for Jackie to wait on you, as she won't disappoint you or your group.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solo Trattoria also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
 

Been to Solo Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solo Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.