We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wacky Wings

Wacky Wings
350 Lake Street/ 688 Great Northern Road, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 3L1, Canada
705-253-2000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $13 - $17
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Montrea, Quebec
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Cosy spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I am not a huge wings fan but my bf is, which is why we headed for this restaurant, while staying in the Soo.

First off, the snowbanks are terrible in the Sault, so we could not figure out where the parking was for this restaurant. We ended up parking sort of in front of the restaurant and apparently, this was the place to park as many other people followed. They really do need to get their parking lot cleared up better!

Having said this though, the rest of the evening was very enjoyable. I loved, loved the decor - rustic, cozy and warm. We were lucky enough to be there around 7:30 on a Sunday night so the place was quiet and it really added to the atmosphere. Not much harsh lighting or anything like that.

Our waitress, who admitted that she hasn't been there all that long was still very knowledgeable and extremely pleasant. She explained (to me mostly) the differences in sauce intensity and you can even ask to taste them before hand if you are worried about them being too strong/ or mild.

Once we ordered, the food came quickly and was hot. As always, I ate about 3 wings and gave the rest to my bf. I thought their wings were good, although in retrospect, i should have gone a bit hotter. My bf got the Megan Fox sauce and thought it was just as described.

We had two pounds of wings, he had two beers and I had two Cokes and one coffee and we shared a large fry - bill came to $46.00 with tax which wasn't all that expensive. I had been worried about the prices because some reviewers felt this place was expensive, but I felt their prices were in line with other places.

Overall, a very nice experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    30
    20
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Nice little spot to have a bite and a beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Comfortable sports bar, with pretty good food. In addition to the many wing options, they have good wraps and appetizers. Service is usually pretty good and prices are reasonable.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Way too expensive, cheap bar food, not a place to dine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Have been here once or twice and its not great, virtually no where to park, everything is deep fried, and their pizza is equivalent to cardboard with some cheese and cheap toppings put on it. Extremely expensive for what you get, quality is not reflective of the pricing at all. Good place to go to with friends, but certainly not family friendly with the drunks behaving badly and staff doing nothing about it. Loud. Salad wasn't bad but $15 for a salad is a bit excessive, especially how small it was... Overall crappy experience

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Manager at Wacky Wings, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We would like to hear from you and talk more about your experience at Wacky Wings. Please contact me at eric@wackywings.ca Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSM
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“FOOD ENTREES RIGHT OUT OF THE FREEZER”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Started by no parking spots,then the wait to be served by this young texting staff,with no regards for their customers was terrible. The entrees were drenched in cheap grease to the point of gushing all over your plate, the wings were soggy and nothing special about their topping anyone can dump different types of hot sauces on wings, the cost of the food was threw the roof along with the prices on their adult beverages, half sports bar with loud ppl.drinking at the bar as the family side of this restaurant gets little attention from waitresses that can't remember to get your drinks right. Overall this place is just another wing joint that charges through the roof. i will never go back to this unorganized wing bar.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Manager at Wacky Wings, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We would like to hear from you and talk more about your experience at Wacky Wings. Please contact me at eric@wackywings.ca Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thunder bay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice place to eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I have been to wacky wings on two occasions. Both times we didn't have to wait.The service was excellent both times. The price for the wings was a little on the high side and the dry wings really weren't as hot and spicey as the menu lets on.The all you can eat really isn't much of a deal as they charge extra if you want to change to another flavor with your next plate and serve only 5 wings.All in all, kids love the place and it is a clean, interesting place to eat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wacky Wings also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
 

Been to Wacky Wings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wacky Wings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.