We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Indian food in the Sault” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Husky North - CLOSED

Husky North
Great Northern rd, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, Canada
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
1 review
“Only Indian food in the Sault”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011 via mobile

This truck stop diner is now run by South Asians who have added, to the traditional Canadian truck stop food, a fairly large selection of typical Indian food for Canadian tastes. By no means is the food fantastic, but if you're looking for something else besides Italian cuisine in the Sault (due to the substantial Italian immigrant heritage of the town), then Husky might fit the bill. Offerings include, among other choices, dal makhani, chicken tikka, aloo gobhi, mutter paneer, palak paneer, fresh naan and roti.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    7
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very good Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011 via mobile

Amazingly good food for a Husky. Usually order take away.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A step below what it used to be, Portions smaller and pricey”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I get that they are trying to do something new and thats great but they have severely hampered not only the truck stop selection but the portions as well. You get half of what you used to there and don't expect to pay less then 15 dollars for your meal. Juice, milk and pop are all ridiculously marked up and gravy is 2 dollars of which should be included with a hot hamburger sandwich. It is also canned gravy that you can buy for 60 cents at the grocery store not homemade. All in all not very happy with the changes to the menu or the inflated cost. The waitresses also don't write anything down and have to go back and ask you what you ordered or forget entirely and serve you the wrong order.

Wont be returning

  • Visited April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Shockingly Good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

My husband and I were in the Soo to visit family earlier this month and asked a few people for recommendations on an Indian restaurant. Several people suggested the Husky gas station on Great Northern Rd. Just for kicks, we thought we'd try it. We live in a big city in the U.S. and the idea of getting Indian food at a gas station was hysterical. Turns out, it was one of the best meals we've ever eaten in the city. Shockingly good.

Obviously, you're not going here for the decor. There are bizarre pay phones at every table and it really does feel like a truck stop but honestly, that's what makes the experience all the more fun. It is literally a hole in the wall with awesome food. The chef makes the majority of the items on site and only a few things are pre-made through a distributor (the samosas for example). We tried a bunch of dishes and all were excellent.

If you are in the Soo, you HAVE to make a point of checking this place out. It's a great find.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Indian Food at a truck stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

The husly north offers the regular Husky menu of diner-style fare AND now an Indian menu as well. Have been a few times now and had samosas, vindaloo, butter chicken and naan. I really enjoyed each time I went. Well-spiced and decent portions. Plain an simple, you go for the food, as the Husky atmosphere is that of a truck stop- which it is. I find it convenient that they still serve diner food as I can go with friends who don't like Indian food and everyone can get something they like.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Husky North also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
 
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Husky North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.