We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean affordable and nicely located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Catalina Motel to your Saves list
Catalina Motel
259 Great Northern Rd., Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Wawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“clean affordable and nicely located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

all rooms include bar fridge 2 double beds coffee pot with enmities 32 inch TV and DVD player they have excellent service and will do regular room cleaning on long stays i highly recommend this place with its wonderful service

Room Tip: if you need to be close to town this is a palace for you its so centrally located you right beside d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soosurfer, Manager at Catalina Motel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again sometime.

Sincerely,
Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muskoka Lakes, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Very basic, but good value. Handy to have fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Extremely clean. Owner on vacation. The dad not very friendly, but did check us in ok. Nice and quiet. Beds very comfortable and nice table and comfy chairs to sit at.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soosurfer, Manager at Catalina Motel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi Catherine,

I do apologize if your check-in experience was not the best. Thank you for the kind words about our place. I do hope my wife or I get to meet you at some point.

Sincerely,
Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stayner, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Really great motel....good value, very very clean. Natural products a really nice touch, owner very helpful. Would definitely recommend! We booked the Agawa Canyon package, including breakfast & lunch on the train, and it was awesome. Train staff were fantastic!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soosurfer, Manager at Catalina Motel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed your trip.

Sincerely,
Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A great little motel. Very clean, the furnishings new, convenient and a good price. Definitely better quality and bang for your buck than a chain hotel room at the same price point in Sault Sainte Marie.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soosurfer, Manager at Catalina Motel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Really nice owner, provided a motorcyclist discount without asking, rags to clean the bike. Clean room, a cool fridge ( that's rare) and conviently placec in the city. Don't hesitate or get a more expensive place for more hype.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soosurfer, Manager at Catalina Motel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. Hope to see you again sometime. Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed there after having a bad experience at another motel. The room was modern and VERY clean. Plus it only costed an extra $1 a night with the CAA discount compared to the other dump across the street that I was staying at. Overall you can tell that the owners take pride in what they do and invest a portion of their profit towards regular maintenance and modernization of their business. If I had to criticize on anything, it would be the picture frames as they made the room look a bit older, other than that 2 thumbs up!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soosurfer, Manager at Catalina Motel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you're looking for quality, cleanliness and great location, this is where you want to stay. After staying in a couple other locations on our holidays, we were able to make comparisons. This was the most reasonably priced and most comfortable motel room we stayed at. The rooms were very clean and included a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, dvd player, air conditioning, hair dryer and more. The shampoos and soaps were some of the nicest I've used from motels as well. There were also a lot of desk/dresser counters and a lot of counter space around the bathroom sink (something that is lacking in most places). The owners are very friendly and there to make your stay a pleasant experience. It was also great to back our car up to our room and unload. There were chairs outside the room you can relax in on a beautiful day or evening. It's close to many food establishments if you enjoy walking. If you're looking for excursions around the area, the owners are very knowledgeable about what's happening in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soosurfer, Manager at Catalina Motel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. Hopefully we will see you again.

Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Motel

Address: 259 Great Northern Rd., Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, quaint, quiet motel offering modern in-room amenities such as DVD player, high-speed wireless, fridge, microwave and parking at your door. Various packages and custom made packages available that you cannot find anywhere else such as Agawa Canyon Train packages, Tour of the Line, Snow Train, Snowmobile, Golf, Searchmont Ski just to name a few. Family owned and operated by the same family the motel's entire existence. We strive to offer our customers Quality, Value and Friendly Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Catalina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Motel Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.