We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What was I Thinking?????” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie

Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   503 Trunk Road, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 3T1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Niagara Falls, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What was I Thinking?????”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I found what looked to be a quaint motel on Trunk Road but I was traveling alone so listened to my husband who said go with a chain. The room was terrible. Smelly. Dirty. The chain lock was broken on the bottom and looked as if someone kicked the door open. None of the lamps worked and it was dark. I could see spots of daylight coming through the holes in the curtains. When's the last time you saw a huge metal bottle opener attached to the vanity? Rough just doesn't say enough. So bad that I read the name off the welding truck parked next to me and told my husband that if he received a call from the police in the morning start there. I paid $72 to be frightened. Thank goodness it was Mon. and I had wifi and the Blacklist on TV to keep me company. In the morning the hairdryer blew up into black smoke in my hands which I reported before I left. Yuck!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    25
    14
    43
    59
See reviews for
45
35
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I booked the hotel using hotwire and get the room for $56 which is great. I just need somewhere to sleep, while I'm in the city visiting people. I wouldn't stay there if I was trying to relax and actually enjoy the site or anything like that. Just to have a quick rest it's fine though. The rooms on the second floor seem to be a little more updated and have comfortable beds, more so then the ones on the ground floor. Sometimes you can get a smell of cigarettes and weed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

It was my first time driving to Sault Ste Marie and we stopped after a driving in heavy fog and misty rain at night. The hotel was conveniently located and since I didn't know the area we decided to stay the night.
The desk clerk was changing shifts so he was tired but accommodating with my questions.
The room was dirty and run down. The bed mattresses were almost like sleeping on the box springs. The t.v. didn't work either. Thankfully we were too tired to care so we slept.
The continental breakfast was awful. The milk was sour, the apples were all bruised, the room was filthy, the chairs hadn't been cleaned in a long time and were covered in crumbs.
Down the road after another day of travel I paid only $20 more and felt I had landed in luxury.
This is definitely a hotel I would forget.

Room Tip: Check the room before you committ.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Nice hotel for the affordable price we paid. Hotel is a little bit run down but all the time they keep on improving. Staff and management are great. Very friendly and always there to assist. I could not ask for more and I was very happy with my stay. Will recommend for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Excellent customer service!!! :) As soon as I arrived to the hotel it was clean and the staff was very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were clean and affordable. I would highly recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The hotel as a whole is run down and unkept, the greyhound station attached to hotel had very sketchy people hanging out in the parking lot. Found out out toilet didn't work at 10pm and had to take the kids out of bed and move rooms...the second room had dirty carpet and could not easily access the room from out side. We were told we could drive around and park outside of the room but the out side door had not been shovelled and had formed an "ice bank" outside the door. Would not recommend to anybody...didn't even feel safe leaving out vehicle out in the parking lot!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie

Address: 503 Trunk Road, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 3T1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Howard Johnson Sault Ste Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.