We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The quality of an expensive hotel at cheap price !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie to your Saves list
Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   229 Great Northern Road, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Jerome, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The quality of an expensive hotel at cheap price !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

When I booked my room here I taught it was at the confort Inn because I needed a room fast so I checked fast. I had a rate of 109$/night that is even cheap for a Confort Inn so I was amazed to finaly see what hotel it was !

Rooms are very well renewed with good furniture. Beds are more than excellent and everything in the room was working fine and extremely clean.

The poeple at the front desk are very polite and helpful, the continental breakfast include warm food and taste good. I didn't had time to try the restaurant cause I checked in around midnight.

The pool room is very nice, good temperature in both pool and hot tub and a big sauna complete well that area. I didn't try the gym cause I only brought winter boots, no regular shoes, but equipment seems to be in nice condition.

For the location, I just arrived this night and I don't know the town, so I cannot tell if it's at a good place but it seems to be one of the closest from the airport.

So I did the right choice to pick the top rated hotel in here, and I suggest anyone to do the same. I will definitely go back here on my next visit to Sault-Ste-Marie !

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Your good choices and our good fortune that you ended up in the front lobby of Comfort Suites. We truly believe our hotel has the best that the Soo has to offer and we are so glad that you agree. We do have an array of amenities from our work out room, hot tub, salt water pool and work out area to the onsite spa and restaurant. We love to hear that the rooms exceeded your expectations and of course, we always enjoy good feedback on our continental breakfast. We hope you will have time to visit Quattro Chophouse + Bar on your next visit to Sault Ste. Marie. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    68
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
76
60
7
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Elliot Lake, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The hotel staff were great and friendly. Rooms very nice. The restaurant Quattro food is as my wife would say to die for. Rod Duhaime and staff do what it takes to make you completely satisfied . We have stayed there more then once and will continue to do so. Charlie Flintoff

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hello Charlie ! Rod certainly makes an impression doesn't he! Just one of our little secrets to happy and returning customers. And so is our 'to die for' Quattro Chophouse + Bar food fair. One of our favourite comments so far! We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is a pleasure to host you and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed at the Comfort Suites for a UFCW conference. The meeting rooms are state-of-the-art. The staff are extremely helpful and knowledgble. Thanks Ben for all your hard work! I will suggest that we use this hotel for future conferences!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
State of the art is a great phrase in our industry and we are so grateful to you for using it to describe our meeting spaces. Our conference centre is indeed the largest in Northern Ontario. We have a multitude of options for room set up and equipment. And of course, a few people on staff who know a thing or two to assist guests when needed. Just one of the ways we like to service our guests (on top of being helpful and knowledgeable!) We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to continued business with the UFCW. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blind River, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed at this fine establishment for 3 nights due to business. We were warmly greeted by a young lady named Stephanie. She was very polite, friendly and knowledgable. This hotel should be proud to have her as a representative!
The rooms are excellent! The beds are super comfie! The food in the restaurant is awesome! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, either for business or pleasure!
Thank you Stephanie and Comfort Suites!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
On behalf of Comfort Suites….and Stephanie, thank you for the great review. A warm greeting during a cold snap. It doesn’t get much better than that! We are so happy that you enjoyed your business stay including your time in our suites. (the beds ARE super comfie!) Quattro Chophouse + Bar does serve up some awesome food fair and so conveniently located right in the hotel. We are so very proud and grateful to all of our staff for their outstanding dedication but we are especially touched when a guest is so impressed with their service that a staff member becomes mentionable. We look forward to having you again at Comfort Suites. Thanks for the taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

First of all they gave us a up grade to a family suite. There was only two of us. This suite was huge, fantastic, clean. We loved the little kitchen area, because it had a good size table in it. Gave you a extra place to sit. The living room was nice size. The 2 beds bedroom was large. Nice bathroom. Would stay there again if in the Soo.
Breakfast was a buffet and in the main restaurant-bar off the lobby. This place was so clean. Laudry room and swimming pool also.
We also went and had a massage while there. They did perfect massages on us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Wonderful review! We are so pleased that you had a terrific experience here at Comfort Suites. Truly having a suite versus a room is a fantastic alternative. Being an all suites hotel makes it that much easier to keep our guests happy. We are glad you enjoyed our hot continental breakfast. We will certainly pass on your wonderful feedback regarding your massage to The Greenhouse Spa. Thank you for taking the time to give us your kind words. We look forward to your next visit to the Soo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I spent one night here in OCT. during our trip to visit the Canadian Bush Plane Heritage Center (Museum).
It is all Suites hotels with very large, clean, MODERN, stylish, rooms.
2 flat screen TV's, sofas, chairs, large closet, excellent beds, very nice.
For less than $150 a night this spot is A1, First Class.
Definitely worth the few extra bucks.
Lots of good middle of the road restaurants in the area like Boston Pizza that has a great menu with everything from burgers, sandwiches to steaks.
Only issue we had was a false alarm fire alert that got the old ticker going.
I would stay here anytime.
Front Desk, Free 1st. Class breakfast, rooms were all top notch. 5 Star for sure.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine. There is no 'view'. It is in the middle of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
5 star ratings - 1st class - Top notch. Definitely three of our our favourite descriptions! Thanks so much for your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your clean, modern and very large suite. We apologize for the fire alarm scare although the silver lining is you heard it loud and clear which is the goal in the event it was not a false alarm. Guests such as you and your wife make working in the service and hospitality industry easy. We hope you enjoyed your visit to the Canadian Bushplane Heritage Museum and we definitely look forward to hosting you again at Comfort Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights. The hotel is modern, clean and quiet. Staff are very friendly and attentive. The suite is also clean, roomy and in decent size. It has good amenities, such as salt water pool with warm water and great sauna!

We are B&B people. But since there wasn't any good B&B in town, so we decided to try this hotel. Although the suite met our requirement, we were quite disappointed with the breakfast. Basically it consisted of orange and apple juice, coffee, scrambled eggs, white bread, yogurt, Cheerios and bacon and alternate with fatty sausages. The eggs were blended without taste, sausages were full of fat, coffee was ok, nothing special! What's missing was fruit and vegetable. We managed to get an orange if we got there early enough; otherwise, we found the breakfast was basically just to fill you up with bread! It has no nutritional value at all! I can't even drink the coffee! It was so weak and tasteless! Although it offered a waffle maker to make your own waffles, it only offered white dough and served with corn syrup! We are in Canada which is the world largest producer of maple syrup! Why serve us corn syrup? While we enjoyed the suite, I totally dismayed by the breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are so glad that our suites, service and the size and cleanliness of our hotel satisfied the B&B in you. That makes us very happy. We are so sorry that you did not enjoy the breakfast. We imagine it would be nothing like what you would be used to at a bed and breakfast. For a complimentary continental, we feel it’s pretty darn good compared to other hotel offerings both locally and as part of our chain. We do have fresh fruit, yogurt, boiled eggs and whole wheat options. Certainly our breakfast attendant is more than happy to get you anything we have run out of on the buffet. We do take your point on the waffles however and we will discuss having other options available. Not a bottle or jar of corn syrup in our kitchen, so we can’t take the hit on that one. It’s maple syrup all the way. We do appreciate your feedback. We always take something away from every review. Thank you for taking the time to give us yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie

Address: 229 Great Northern Road, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#3 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated by Quattro Hospitality Inc., the hotel features 157 suites and the Largest Convention space in Northern Ontario. Total capacity for the conference centre is 1,500 people due to 13,728 square feet of floor space. Full catering service for events is available. The hotel offers free high-speed Internet access, an indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna, fitness centre, business center, onsite restaurant and an onsite spa. Limousine service and Personal Trainer facilities. Air-conditioned guestrooms feature a refrigerator, microwave, full-size sofa bed, flat panel televisions, ipod docking stations and room service is available. The Comfort Suites hotel also provides easy access to local points of interest like the OLG Casino Sault Ste. Marie, Agawa Canyon Tour Train, Searchmount Ski Hill, Cambrian Mall, Bellevue Park and Crimson Ridge Golf Course. The hotel also participates in Choice Privileges, the Choice Hotels rewards program where guests can earn points toward free nights, Airline Rewards, gift certificates and more while staying at any Comfort, Comfort Suites, Quality, Sleep Inn, Clarion, Econo Lodge and Rodeway Inn hotel in Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites And Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie
Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Great Northern Hotel
Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.