We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and rooms for the Northern Ont Country Music Awards” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   229 Great Northern Road, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Callander
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service and rooms for the Northern Ont Country Music Awards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed the weekend at Comfort Suites. The rooms were beautiful and the staff were fantastic. The porters had an entire bus load of luggage sorted and to the proper rooms in record time -with no errors. The desk staff was very helpful. Rooms were clean. Beds were comfortable and we loved the temperature control. Pick a number and that's what you got. One minor complaint is the signage in the halls could be clearer. We had friends in different areas of the hotel and walking from the tower to the other section was long and difficult as was finding the desk and ball rooms. Also the breakfast area was not set up well for large groups. The toaster and coffee machine should be outside of the buffet area to keep the line moving faster. The manager explained they were limited by the chain's rules...too bad...as the coffee and food were great- just a very long wait. We didn't eat sunday as we ran out of time. Otherwise it was perfect. We'll be back.

Room Tip: The tower rooms facing the water have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide such valuable feedback! We are so happy that your arrival at the hotel was a positive experience. Our front desk staff strive to ensure check-ins are seamless regardless of group size. The comfortable beds and in-room temperature control seem to be favorites amoungst the guests. We feel it is important for you to feel at home during your stay.
We are taking steps to help rectify the confusion regarding the room signage. Our utmost apologies for any inconvenience that may have occured during your breakfast experience. The chain rules do limit some of our processes but there is always room for improvement and we will be discussing this point with the management team.
The staff is still buzzing about all the excitement from the weekend festivities and the Northern Ontario Country Music Awards. It sounds like it was a great party! We are glad you had fun and we look forward to your next visit to Sault Ste. Marie and your next stay at Comfort Suites and Quattro Conference Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    45
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
51
41
5
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rama, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Enjoyed one night at this hotel in October. My suite accommodations (in the tower) included the main living area, bathroom and separate bedroom. I absolutely loved the shower, great water pressure, felt like a massage! And the bed pillows were just right! The suite, and the hotel, was very comfortable and clean, great decor! I had dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant, and the food was pretty good! Staff were very friendly. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest
What a fantastic review! We appreciate your feedback on such a variety of aspects of our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed the new shower heads and the pillows. We noted that you scored us as a 4/5 on some of the categories. If there is anything we could do for you to improve our service on your next visit, please let us know and we will be happy to accommodate. We want our guests to have a five star experience every time they visit Comfort Suites & Quattro Conference Centre. We look forward to seeing you again in Sault Ste. Marie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rama, ont
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was my third time visiting Sault Ste. Marie and first time at the Comfort Suites. I was blown away by the decor, spacious rooms, fine restauraunt and friendly service. Very clean and comfortable. I would highly-recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great accomodation with everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest
We were thrilled to read your review! The hotel just completed a full renovation and we are so pleased that you enjoyed the benefits. We have a wonderful support staff that take great pride in their work. Quattro Chophouse + Bar is conveniently located in the hotel and offers a wonderful atmosphere and top notch cuisine. Thank you for the high recommendation which is completely in line with our motto - One place with so much going on. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Second time I've stayed here . Last time was in the tower, this time in the 2 story unit, both great. The suite was huge and very comfortable. That the temperature was controlled by Thermostat is something I wish all hotels would do. Bed was comfortable, but for me, I hate those "chicklet" pillows, brought my own regular size pillows. Room was clean and quiet. Have stayed at other Choice hotels in the SOO, which were in town, but this hotel is only 5 minutes from downtown and well worth the time. Breakfast was good, at first was leery of the eggs when I saw the diced onion and peppers, but the small amount really added to the flavor of the meal. Staff was friendly and quick to register. Will be back there again. Also check out the North 82 restaurant just down the road , great prime rib and received discount when I showed my motel passkey....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, Marketing & Communications Manager at Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest
We appreciate you returning to our establishment for a second stay. A returning patron gives us another opportunity to provide a positive visit here at Comfort Suites & Quattro Conference Centre. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your sleep on the comfortable beds and we will take your comments on the pillows under consideration. We hope you will take your experience with breakfast and visit Quattro Chophouse + Bar for other meals as well. Thank you for the wonderful feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great hotel and Great restaurant too -Quattro. The king size bed was the most comfortable I've had in a while. Glad to stay there anytime in the future!!! Right on the Great Northern so not far from any amenities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia L, Manager at Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful comments! We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Comfort Suites and your time in our restaurant, Quattro Chophouse & Bar. We pride ourselves on great service and delicious food. We look forward to you seeing you again on your next visit to Sault Ste. Marie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Oct 7 2012
We recently had family and friends staying at this hotel for our daughters wedding and were very pleased with the service, from our accomadations to service it was top rate. We held our dinner and reception also here, and we could not have asked for a better night. Rooms are spacious, staff was excellent and overall we were pleased. We will suggest this hotel to anyone travelling best place to stay in the SOO !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia R, General Manager at Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest, we are so pleased that you had the opportunity to use our facility for both hotel and reception services! Our facility allows the convenience for our guests to enjoy functions whether it be a family wedding as yours, meetings, conventions, trade shows etc as well as superior and spacious sleeping rooms. It's great that you enjoyed your stay and very important event while at Comfort Suites and Quattro Conference centre. We appreciate that you will recommend us to others as well - thanks to you and congratulations once again on your daughter's special day!
Best Regards, Tricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

First off, let me start by saying, Im not the easiest to please. Some of my favorite things to do is complain and criticize about restaurants and hotels and find ways to improve it. Unfortunately for me there was nothing to complain about at the Comfort Suites Hotel! I was staying at the hotel for 5 weeks working on a film Production. My office and Hotel room were there. You would think that after spending so much time there, I would be able to find problems and get tired of staying at the same place all day and all night. In fact, it was the opposite. The longer I stayed the more comfortable I became and the more I realized how amazing this hotel was. This hotel was one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed at. From the hallways, to the bedrooms, to the restaurant and public bathrooms. They were either spotless, or being cleaned. The beds were amazing and all the renovations were perfect. Every room was larger than a regular hotel room with a couch and a nice screen TV. This Hotel also had an amazing gym and "Salt Water" Pool. Most resorts don't have facilities this good and well maintained. The Restaurant in the hotel "Quattro's" was A1!! One of the best restaurants in the city, a 2 minute walk from my room. The most important and most impressive thing I found about the hotel was the attitude of the staff. From the owners to the front desk, to the restaurant staff to the cleaners and maintenance staff, everyone always had a genuine smile and was ready to help in anyway they can. You can sometimes find some of the owners helping out around the hotel, from helping to clean, to cooking up an amazing Bar-B-que for their large conferences and just being around to make sure everything was running smoothly. Everyone was very approachable when something was needed, and taken care of right away! Even though this "Hotel" is really a conference centre with tons of weddings and conferences going on around the clock, this Comfort Suites had a "family run" feel to it. Not easy to do in such a large Hotel. There was always someone willing to lend a hand before we even asked for anything. I want to thank Trish, Amanda, Rod, Cindy, Jessica, John, Fosto, Jason, Bud, Popeye, Ryan and everyone else who I just forgot to mention. You all made me feel at home at your hotel and it was very very much appreciated. It's not easy being away from home for so long but all of you made it an amazing experience. Thanks again and I really hope to see all of you again really soon!

Robbie David
Production Co-ordinator on "Swearnet"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia R, General Manager at Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Robbie
We genuinely enjoyed hosting the Swearnet cast & crew here at our hotel. What an amazing group of people you have. Our staff was more than eager to ensure that everyone felt that they were part of our family. We really enjoyed the experience of being part of the making of this film, whether it was by providing clean sleeping rooms, office space or delicious food. It's always easy to be away from home, when you are able to find a "home" away from home and be treated like family - it makes for an easier period and most importantly a memorable and rewarding experience. We hope that your Production office finds Sault Ste. Marie as their home for any future work and we would love to host you and everyone else again, you were great! We all really miss you guys here. Good Luck and best to you on all your future endeavors. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie

Address: 229 Great Northern Road, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#1 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated by Quattro Hospitality Inc., the hotel features 157 suites and the Largest Convention space in Northern Ontario. Total capacity for the conference centre is 1,500 people due to 13,728 square feet of floor space. Full catering service for events is available. The hotel offers free high-speed Internet access, an indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna, fitness centre, business center, onsite restaurant and an onsite spa. Limousine service and Personal Trainer facilities. Air-conditioned guestrooms feature a refrigerator, microwave, full-size sofa bed, flat panel televisions, ipod docking stations and room service is available. The Comfort Suites hotel also provides easy access to local points of interest like the OLG Casino Sault Ste. Marie, Agawa Canyon Tour Train, Searchmount Ski Hill, Cambrian Mall, Bellevue Park and Crimson Ridge Golf Course. The hotel also participates in Choice Privileges, the Choice Hotels rewards program where guests can earn points toward free nights, Airline Rewards, gift certificates and more while staying at any Comfort, Comfort Suites, Quality, Sleep Inn, Clarion, Econo Lodge and Rodeway Inn hotel in Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites And Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie
Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Great Northern Hotel
Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.