We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Bay Street, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 1X1, Canada (Formerly Days Inn - Sault Ste. Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 23 hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Portage la Prairie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, clean and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Staff were excellent. Loved the pool and hot tub. Room and bed were great, spacious and comfortable. Hot breakfast was excellent and even my wife could eat which she usually cannot at continental breakfasts because of allergies.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    29
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
17
3
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was clearly recently updated throughout...except the elevator (who doesn't love the 70's?). Nice job...comfortable, clean & neatly decorated. Nice staff. Would visit again in the future if needed.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent two nights at this hotel and would highly recommend it to others. As stated in previous reviews the rooms and washrooms were really clean, beds very comfortable and the cinnamon rolls served at breakfast were delicious! Even the facilities like the pool and hot tub were impeccably clean. Location is very convenient - just across from the mall, LCBO and within walking distance of most restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your nice comments and we hope to see you again soon

Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, nice rooms, fairly good breakfast (though there were no "signature cinnamon rolls" left?!)
We found our room a little noisy, but it was close to the elevator (213). We only spent one night, so it didn't really bother us that much (it was also a Sunday night, but I would imagine that it would have been worse if we were there on Friday). Pretty good value as we got the AAA rate of $117. We didn't use the pool because the chlorine smell was too intense, much worse than most places.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind comments although disappointed you couldn't get the breakfast buns.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at this facility one night while on vacation. The staff was great and very friendly. Wanted to make everyone's stay good. The hotel is near the bridge to Sault Ste. Marie, Canada. Breakfast was very good and plenty of it. The room was quite and very clean. No cost for parking. We drove everywhere but the hotel is near eating and shopping.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your generous comments and will share with the staff. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 night in late March 2014 for business. The check-in process was smooth and quick. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised with the inclusion of a continental breakfast. They had fresh bagels, cream cheese, fruits, variety of cereals, yogurt etc... It's open until 10am so I found this very convenient. The location of the hotel is a big plus. They have a couple of nice restaurants nearby and the station mall is just across the street. All in all I enjoyed my stay and would most likely return again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you on your next stay

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
822 helpful votes 822 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My wife and I just returned from a quick business stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Sault Ste. Marie Ontario. The hotel is really quite faultless. It appears to be a new build although I understand it is a renovation. The WiFi to dependable and speedy. We found the hotel to be clean, quiet and comfy. The breakfast is quite good. The Station Mall is right across the street making provisions and supplies handy. It is close to many of the businesses in the core of the Soo. The work out facility is clean, new and well stocked. All in all you cannot fault this location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie

Address: 320 Bay Street, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 1X1, Canada (Formerly Days Inn - Sault Ste. Marie)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#7 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Sault Ste. Marie Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Days Inn
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.