We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting for plane lovers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canadian Bushplane Heritage Centre

Canadian Bushplane Heritage Centre
50 Pim Street, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 3G4, Canada
(705) 945-6242
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
ontario
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Interesting for plane lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Lots of planes to view especially bush planes, some of which you can enter. The 3D movie on fighting bush fires was cool with the special effects.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    53
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Sault College Aviation Graduation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a fantastic venue for the College's Aviation graduation/awards/dinner.

The location was lovely; on the water front, the display of planes was wonderful.

Just a perfect place to celebrate Sault College Aviations grad!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Really Neat Place that you dont Expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This place seems to always be getting better. It is a smaller venue, but worth a visit if in town. Basically the history of water float planes which was an important part of the norths history from the 1920s till today. Really cool planes and now there is an interactive discovery centre related to forest fire fighting (that uses water bombers and float planes). Worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun to look at”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Wings over the north is the same as in Sudbury. The attraction is highly dependent on literacy in English. I came in the low season, so it was interesting talking to the person working on creating the DHC Fox Moth from scratch. Overall a great experience, but the information should be presented in a more interactive manner.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We are from Green Bay Wisconsin and planned a trip to Sault Ste Marie in December as a Christmas gift to be used in late April. Upon arrival, our check in time at our hotel was later, so after crossing the river, we entered into Canada, for what we hoped would be a wonderful adventure for us as a couple. We arrived at the Bush Plane Museum only to find that they were not quite open. According to the website they are supposed to open at 1pm EST. As we waited (outside only), the crowd started to appear. The website did advertise that it was the traditional beer tasting event, so we expected a larger than normal turn out to a local museum. As the crowds continued to gather, the museum was still not open. At 1:15pm (EST) a couple, grandfather, and grandson walked up to go in and were denied admission as the museum was not open to the public. The volunteer or curator invited them to return a different day. We left because we are not beer drinkers and we were not planning on paying $28.00 just to see the museum. How disappointing. It should have been listed on the website, signs should have been posted. We drove all this way to see a special museum only to be disappointed! I honestly think that if we ever came back, we would be sure NOT to see the museum because of wasting our time and not clearly communicating to the public what was going on! Anyone else, please make sure you call the day of, as obviously they are not very good at communicating their hours of availability.

Sincerely,

Disappointed Travelers from Wisconsin

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canadian Bushplane Heritage Centre also viewed

 

Been to Canadian Bushplane Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canadian Bushplane Heritage Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.