We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Delta Sault Ste Marie Waterfront Hotel and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Delta Sault Ste Marie Waterfront Hotel and Conference Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   208 St. Mary's Drive, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 5V4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a great experiance staying at this hotel, from the minute we walked in the staff was very friendly and helpful, check-in was a breeze. The hotel was very clean and well kept. The location is excellent close to shopping and restaurants and the walkway along the waterfront is great if you like walk in the morning or after dinner.The pool, hot tub and gym area was clean and the young lad looking after the facility was very friendly. Will not hesitate to stay with this hotel the next time we are in Sault Ste.Marie

Room Tip: When booking your room ask for the rooms that face the water and bridges that connect Canada to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Front Office Manager at Delta Sault Ste Marie Waterfront Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at our location. We are thankful that you took the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We have shared your feedback with all of our team members with special mention of our Health Club Attendant. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2013. Sincerely, Kelly Walker, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    107
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
69
92
16
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Beds were to die for - still have to email the hotel to find out what model of Northern Feather they put in the rooms - they were awesome. I loved being on the waterfront and having easy access to the boardwalk. If you're just heading to the Sault area for a vacation - it's a city with tons of locally owned AWESOME restaurants (non-chains). Lake Superior Provincial Park should also be on your list to visit

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms are worth the extra for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Front Office Manager at Delta Sault Ste Marie Waterfront Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sault Ste. Marie as your travel destination and for making the Delta your home away from home while visiting our fine city. We agree that Sault Ste. Marie boasts decadent dining, a breath taking boardwalk and beautiful country side (Lake Superior Provincial Park). We are thankful that you took a moment to share your experience via Trip Advisor. Until we meet again, rest well with your northern feather pillow product.
Sincerely, Kelly Wallker, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Elevatators need major attention. People are great. Lots of signs of mediocre reverb beeing completed. 4 star price for 2 1/2 star hotel. Good location close to shopping and restaurants. Peeling wallpaper, paint touch ups in several areas indicated poor Reno' s being completed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Front Office Manager at Delta Sault Ste Marie Waterfront Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We value your feedback and business and assure you that we are committed to continuous improvement. We have put guest feedback into action and are pleased to share that our elevator replacement is under way. With our first elevator down in late November, we anticipate full completion by the end of the first quarter in 2013. To minimize disruption, we have given guests access to our service elevator. We certainly look forward to hosting you in 2013 so that we may showcase our exciting upgrades. In terms of "poor Reno's being completed", we are not ok with is and are sincerely committed to a fix it program. This will allow us to ensure our guest experience is first class. You should never receive anything less at Delta Hotels & Resorts. Thank you, once again, for taking the time to provide your feedback.
Sincerely, Kelly Wallker, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Great Lakes have fascinated me ever since I was a kid and having first visited them when the story of the Edmund Fitzgerald was in the news I had always wanted to visit Soo. So we splashed out and booked a river view room high up and had the most spectacular views. Stayed two nights in order to take the Agwa Canyon Fall colours train. On balance I wouldn't recommend the latter for the price.

Everything about the hotel was great including the free wifi and breakfast and a five star rating was on the way until I received a response to my feedback on the visit. We ate dinner twice in the restaurant and the food was good. Also they employ servers who are local and have worked there for a number of years. Having these experienced servers was refreshing. It was like having your Mother look after you rather than the stereotyped service you normally receive in N America where you are constantly bothered with enquiries as to how you like your meal.

On the second visit at just after 1900 we were told that they had run out of the beef starter and the prime rib main course. The restaurant was very quiet so there ws no reason for this other than someone had fouled up on the ordering.

My feedback was very positive but I made the point this should not have happened in a hotel of this class. It didn't ruin our trip but they say they value feedback so they got it.

Sadly the response was the ever more frequent corporate one of not being able to accept any responsibiliy and identifying an unusual demand as the reason for the non availability. The evidence clearly did not support this view.

We did not make a major issue of it and all we asked for was an honest response that a mistake had been made, as we all do sometime. It begs the question, if we had had a major issue how would the hotel have responded. How any organisation responds to problems is the true measure of how customer focussed they are. Juat a shame they couldn't get this one right.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinGeneralManager, General Manager at Delta Sault Ste Marie Waterfront Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Good day, I was just reading your review and feel terrible that after a great experience you were left with such negative ending. Certainly was never our intention, if anything we find getting into too much detail about our short comings can lead to more questions than answers. We sold more Prime Rib than we cooked that day, simple as that. I am sure you know, preparing another full Prime rib would not have been possible based on the timing. We calculate based on our house count how many guest we anticipate, then we average based on that number how many Prime Rib we will sell. We then round up and begin preparation. On occasion we get it wrong, this night we did. I am truly sorry you didn't finish your experience on a positive note but can assure you I have personally met with the chef to discuss the process so it doesn't happen again.
If you would like to discuss further, please don't hesitate to contact me.
Regards,
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Sault Ste. Marie has a great hotel on the water in the Delta. It's clean, the rooms have all of the standard amenities, and the bed offered the best night sleep I've had in a long time. This is the place to be in Sault Ste. Marie.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Front Office Manager at Delta Sault Ste Marie Waterfront Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at our location. We are pleased to know that you received a good night's rest on our Simmons Sanctuary product. Although the mattress is exclusive to Delta Hotel's & Resorts, we are pleased to inform you that all pillows and bedding can be purchased. Simply visit, www.northernfeather.com and become the proud new owner of a northern feather duvet and queen size pillows. Until we meeting again, we hope you rest well. Sincerely, Kelly Walker, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed two nights in late August and it was perfect. We paid a little extra for a room with a view of the St. Mary's river and it was well worth it. Quiet, clean and comfortable room. The housekeeping staff were friendly, and engaging. The restaurant food was top-notch, as was the service. We even discovered a lovely wine with the help of the server. Sault Ste. Marie is such a pretty and interesting place to visit and this hotel was just another reason that our trip was so wonderful. It's right on the river, the bike trail, and the bridge to the USA. They have a lockup for bikes, which we didn't use, as we didn't even have time to take the bikes off our rack however it's a great spot for biking along the river and rapids.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra if you can for a room with a view, it's lovely. There are many great spots on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Front Office Manager at Delta Sault Ste Marie Waterfront Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience while visiting Sault Ste. Marie and for choosing the Delta as your home away from home while travelling. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent experience; from the welcoming & engaging housekeeping staff to the pleasant dining experience including knowledgeable server. We pride ourselves in creating the ultimate guest experience and I am pleased to see that we were able to create that for you. We look forward to having you return to our community in the spring/summer of 2013. We have increased our number of bike trails within our community and urge you to come back and experience them. Until we meet again, thank you for your feedback.
Sincerely, Kelly Walker, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I have stayed here many times when this property was a Holiday Inn. I had not been to the Soo for a while so this was my first stay as the Delta. It has been totally remodeled and the upgrade in appearance is amazing. Always a good location near the river, now even nicer with the remodeling along with free wireless

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Front Office Manager at Delta Sault Ste Marie Waterfront Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Loyal Guest,

Thank you for returning to our improved location. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your return visit to not only Sault Ste. Marie but to our hotel. We thank you for your continued business and look forward to welcoming you back in 2013 where we can showcase to you our finest elevator upgrade. Sincerely, Kelly Walker, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sault Ste. Marie
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites & Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie
Comfort Suites & Conference Cent...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suite...
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#10 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Sault Ste Marie Waterfront Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Sault Ste Marie Waterfront Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 208 St. Mary's Drive, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 5V4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#5 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Sault Ste Marie Waterfront Hotel and Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Delta Sault Ste Marie Waterfront Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sault Ste Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Waterfront
Delta Sault Ste Marie Waterfront Hotel And Conference Centre Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Sault Ste Marie Waterfront Hotel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.