We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss This One!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algoma Central Railway

Algoma Central Railway
129 Bay Street, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 6Y2, Canada
1-800-242-9287
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It’s all aboard as you travel to the end of steel on 592-mile, round trip ‘Tour of the Line’ to the French Canadian community of Hearst, Ontario. Your journey begins at the Algoma Central Railway depot in downtown Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, where you will board our regular passenger service for a day-long rail adventure that combines the rugged mixed forests of the Canadian Shield, experienced on the Agawa Canyon Tour Train, with the boreal forests of the Great Clay Belt region. In marked contrast to the mountainous Shield country, the Clay Belt region, home to the lordly moose, is a combination of level coniferous forests and great inland lakes teeming with northern pike and walleye.
Burnet, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This One!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 NEW

I've taken this train trip twice - once with my children and my parents, the last time by myself. While I enjoyed it in the company of others, I saw much more when I was alone. The train is comfortable, the staff considerate, and the scenery delightful. I ate breakfast in the dining car. While the food was standard diner quality, the experience of eating while traveling and enjoying the views made it special. The dining car, by the way, serves very good coffee. Once we reached our destination, I took my box lunch (available along with your pre-purchased ticket) to a solitary picnic table, next to the beautiful river. It was peaceful, and no one disturbed me. A short hike through the woods, on a very well-maintained path, provided my daily exercise. Unlike the first trip with my family, the passenger cars now have real-time images projected on flat screen televisions. The cameras are mounted on the front of the engine. These views give a different perspective of the scenery and I found it to be a great bonus. I took this trip in the summer and the weather was perfect. Don't deny yourself (or your children) this beautiful train trip.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    9
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Loved our trip in fall. The colors were fantastic. Beautiful scenic views of ontario. A must when visiting/passing through SSM

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Trip to Agawa Canyon but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

If you are a train buff or enjoy the Canadian wilderness, this train is for you. Audio and video history of the city and the rail lines helps keeping this 8 hour train ride interesting. Some of the cars are cleaner and nicer than others. Food cost is insane! Bring your own food!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“not again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

been taking this trip almost every year for a day get away. things have changed from being a great one day escape, but not anymore. The diner prices are out of this world. Nothing to do anymore at the canyon because its become so run down. Train late leaving and arriving back. Just a total rundown tourist attraction from years ago.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A "Must Visit" While in the Soo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

A lot of fun and a must visit while in the Soo. Best time to go is once the leaves start falling, because you get to see additional views the leaves hide. Don't forget your camera, because there will be some really cool views and stuff to take pictures of.

The train depot is in a shopping mall, so there is plenty of parking and somewhere to grab breakfast if you don't eat before getting there. The same shopping mall has a Wal-Mart right next to the train, so utilize it as a resource to buy water and food for the trip, because everything on the train is expensive and this is an all-day journey. The train leaves at 8:00am sharp, so don't think about being late or you get left behind.

The train is very comfortable and has spacious seats. Try to sit in one of the sets of seats that face each other, because there is plenty of window space for taking pictures (and you will be taking a lot of them, because the views are amazing and perfect photo ops). All of the passenger cars have video monitors that show narrative stories of the Soo and points of interest along the route.

The stop for the train is Algoma Valley, which has nothing available logistical wise, so only count on trails and restrooms. The time allotted is only about an hour and a half, so start walking to the Bridal Falls as soon as you get off the train and then double back on the other trail to get pictures of the other falls on the opposite side of the canyon. If possible, don’t bother to try to walk the 300 steps up to the top lookout, because, if the leaves are off the trees you can get just as good photos from the lower lookout.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algoma Central Railway also viewed

Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
 

Been to Algoma Central Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algoma Central Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.