We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms okay, location great, quiet hotel, breakfast yucky so skip it!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn to your Saves list
Sleep Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   727 Bay St., Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 6Y3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northwestern Ontario
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
“Rooms okay, location great, quiet hotel, breakfast yucky so skip it!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a great bargain hotel in downtown SSM, clean, quiet, good parking, odd shower stalls in the room....it takes up a huge awkward space but never mid that, you can live with it. Just remember to bring your shampoo and a small travel soap as the liquid dispenser in the shower is watery and almost useless. As for the so called hot breakfast, skip it. Eat the fresh fruit if it is there and skip the horrible microwaved flat egg patty (yes, it exists and tastes like Nothing!) As well, do not eat the miked sausage rounds, they are hideous. Skip the watered down coffee and drink only the OJ. And try to ignore the odd breakfast lady who stares you down while you eat like a total weirdo in the middle of the lobby. Would stay here again if not intending to spend any time in the room except to sleep and would take my own newly gained breakfast advice to heart.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I am pleased that you found value in our cleanliness, parking and location. However I am quite surprised by some of your comments and would like to address them.

We have received countless compliments about our luxurious, double sized, walk-in showers.

In an effort to address the burden on the environment of extra packaging of soaps and shampoos, we chose an alternative product called Symmetry Hair and Body. This high end product has been well received by almost all of our guests. Packaged soap is located on the vanity for hand and face washing.

We purchase our breakfast products from the same supplier as other major hotel brands including Marriott and Holiday Inn.

Our staff members take great pride in the work they do and receive many positive guest comments commending them for excellent customer service. None of our employees would ever knowingly stare at a guest while they are eating.

All our guest rooms were recently 100% upgraded top to bottom. Each guest room has a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, 32 inch LCD television and complimentary wireless internet.

Thank you

Joe Dore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    80
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
45
63
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I arrived at 10:00 p.m. with no reservation...and was given a room with king size bed..the room was great although whomever hung/cut the door to fit, left a huge gap..no biggy...the room and bed were comfortable.

The (breakfast)..well...if you are hungry and don't want to fill your guts with greasy fare befor e you start a 8 hr trek West...skip it and go to Tim Hortons down the road..otherwise everything was good, the desk employees were courteous and quick

Room Tip: door had a huge gap that allowed a lot of the light in from the hallway...skip the breakfast, unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We booked our room at this hotel through priceline.com. We called the hotel ahead to confirm our room. The unpleasant desk clerk indicated that rooms booked through priceline were two double beds with no exceptions. When we arrived, the registering desk clerk was very pleasant and helpful. We checked in to a very nice room - newly renovated - and had an enjoyable walk along the waterfront Hub Trail - the access to the trail ia very close - this hotel has a very good location. At 4 a.m. the next morning, our sleep was repeatedly interrupted by slamming doors and noise in the hallway outside our room. When checking out, we mentioned this to the desk clerk who was less than sympathetic (must be the one we confirmed our room with!) indicating that the noise was just the night shift workers coming in and that now we were interrupting their sleep by leaving!!! We had a long drive to Thunder Bay ahead of us on less than a full night's sleep because we were placed in the middle of night shift workers' rooms - is this because we booked through priceline? Very inconsiderate booking!! The breakfast was very good with hot items and the breakfast staff was very accommodating. We would stay here again but only after confirming that our room was in a quiet part of the hotel with no night shift workers coming in and disturbing our sleep!

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm that your room is well away from "night shift workers" that this hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe D, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

I apologize that your sleep was disrupted by noise. If you had advised us of the noise while it was occurring we would have been able to speak to the other guest causing the disturbance.

We would never distinguish where a guest room is located for any other reason than a specific request from the guest or room type location.

Joe Dore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great location in the downtown area. Close to waterfront walk, mall, dOwntown shopping, library, museums and art gallery. Welcoming and accommodating staff. No elevator but staff offered to help carry bags to second floor. Rooms are lovely and clean with windows that open. Great air conditioning but it was a little loud. Continental breakfast food was basic.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We found this hotel on Trip Advisor. It was within walking distance of the train ride, and everyone was friendly. The problem was the air conditioner! It was 86 degrees out, so it was a must, but it was so loud at night that neither of us could sleep. I would definitely stay here again, in winter! The breakfast is also very limited.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

As I return to Sault Ste Marie almost every year I am very pleased to have found that for just $10-20 more a night I can stay in a clean, modern hotel downtown, with free breakfast rather than one of the old motels on Great Northern. This room was very nicely decorated, the beds were comfy, and the room had all of the amenities I required (incl a fridge and good wifi). Breakfast was nothing fancy, and though they were microwaved, it was still nice to have warm options such as eggs, sausages and french toast on top of the typical continental fare like toast, coffee and fruit. Front desk service was friendly. I will be recommending the Sleep Inn to others and will likely make this my first choice for future trips to the Soo!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Usually when I travel, I don't spend a lot of time at the hotel so I tend to not get a great value (I can't remember the last time I swam in a hotel pool). However, this hotel was exactly what I needed. Comfortable and very clean room, pretty large, comfortable bed with nice pillows and comforter, fast/ accessible wifi, fridge, easy temperature adjustments, friendly staff who helped me find late-night food, and safe parking. Pet friendly, too. Easy and safe walking right out the door, in the park and library adjacent to the hotel, and along the boardwalk. Next to an apartment building, not on a strip with fast-food and car lots, but easy access to downtown and the boardwalk. I had the room next to the ice machine, so yes, I can see how that would be noisy -- but frankly I was tired and got a great night's rest on a very comfortable bed, so I could have my adventure seeing Canada. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 104/106 are near the ice machine -- probably want to avoid if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 727 Bay St., Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 6Y3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#9 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Sleep Inn Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.