We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay if you're taking the Agawa Canyon Train.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Bay Street, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 6S2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“THE place to stay if you're taking the Agawa Canyon Train.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is directly across from the Algoma Railway Depot. Those who are there for the Agawa Canyon Train Tour will find this hotel VERY convenient. Nice, quiet hotel with comfortable, clean rooms. Our room had a nice view of the International Bridge and we could see the train pull into the station as well. The shower in my room was SUPER relaxing. Only thing that disturbed my sleep was my aunt's snoring. I definitely recommend the free breakfast before taking the train, as the breakfast on the train is a bit costly. The staff were very friendly and took good care of us.

Room Tip: Book well in advance if you're taking the train tour. It sells out quickly. Train packages are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny N, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review ,your feedback is of the utmost importance to our team at Quality Inn &Suites Bay Front.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our convenient downtown location, the stunning views from our rooms and the SUPER relaxing shower as you mentioned!

Also very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary hot buffet breakfast and the customer service that you received from our team members.

Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    51
    13
    6
    0
See reviews for
29
42
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Little Current, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stopped in for the night during September and had a great stay. The hotel was busy, but the staff was very good and saw to me right away. The hotel is very clean, my room looked recently renovated, and everything looked nice. My bed was very comfortable, I slept well, and the hotel was silent during the night. The pool was clean, the weight room was there, but lacking in significant weights, but there was also a very toasty sauna. All in all a great stay and would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: King-sized beds are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny N, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and reviewing our hotel.
We at Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front are never too busy for our guests, so I will be sharing your comments with our staff who are absolute super stars when it comes to customer service!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the amenities and cleanliness that we take great pride in. Have noted your comment about the weight room and we will be addressing that,

Thank you once again for staying with us and recommending us to others and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Found this hotel online and really appreciated the amazing corporate rate they gave us. If your going on the Agawa Canyon Tour, this is your hotel. Located right across the road from the train station and departure area, plus Station Mall is also right across the road!
Very good continental breakfast and our room was clean, comfortable and very quiet.
Would definitely return! Very helpful staff as well!

Room Tip: We stayed in a King Suite, it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny N, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our great downtown location and our complimentary hot buffet breakfast!

Your comments about our very helpful staff are also very reassuring as we place strong
emphasis on customer service excellence.

Thank you once again for choosing Quality Inn &Suites Bay Front and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits to Sault Ste. Marie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillamook, Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had never been to Sault Ste Marie before, so we wanted to see the City before we decided on a hotel. There are definitely some worn-out areas of town. The Quality Inn, however, is located nicely a block from the casino and across the street from the mall. Free parking. We were on the 6th floor and it was quiet and the bed was comfortable. I used the pool area/hot tub and it was very nice, with one entire end all glass. Had breakfast the next morning and it was their typical, good hot breakfast. The hotel has its own restaurant, which is a bit spendy for dinner. The casino has a restaurant and there is a sit-down Italian restaurant in the mall area. Most of the motels in the City are along the highway and you would have to drive into the downtown. This was in a safe area. The City has done a great job of re-developing the waterfront to a huge park. Be aware that to see the locks, you need to travel to the US side.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny N, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Quality Inn &Suites Bay Front as your hotel of choice in Sault Ste. Marie.

We are delighted to hear that you liked our convenient downtown location close to all major attractions as well as all the amenities and services on offer at the hotel.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to The Sault!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our room was nice, clean and convenient (1st floor) we were visiting the Soo for a family wedding. Breakfast was wonderful and plentiful. Roomy area to eat. Bar prices were outrageous. Did not use the pool. Some of the counter staff was not as friendly as we were used to. I asked for a room change at check in, because of the location of our room, and was greeted with a deep sigh. Frequently, during our stay, we felt as if we were bothering this particular person whenever we asked a question, or needed something. I do recommend the hotel, it's well located and for the most part a pleasant place to stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny N, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Let me start by saying a big thank you for staying with us and reviewing our hotel.We are glad that in most part your stay with us was a pleasant one and that you liked our convenient location.

I apologize for the unfriendliness that you encountered from one particular staff member and let me reassure you that this will be addressed immediately as we firmly believe in the highest standards of customer service and excellence at Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front.

Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I went to the Soo for a weekend getaway/anniversary trip. I had stayed at the Quality previously and have been very impressed previously. Our arrival and check in was fast and courteous. The room was beautiful and extremely clean. The layout was very nice and the beds really comfortable. The bathrooms were spotless and well equipped. The included hot breakfast was well laid out and the food choice was good as was the quality. The hotel is downtown close to the Essar Center where there was a hockey game Saturday night. You are across the street from the Mall, two blocks from the Casino, four blocks to the US Bridge and a block from the downtown core. The amenities were excellent with a nice pool. The restaurant meals were really good and the prices reasonable. I have already rebooked for the Spring.

Room Tip: The hotel is quiet so any room will work. The view to the west is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny N, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,.

WOW -Thank you very much and a belated happy anniversary from the entire team at Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front Sault Ste. Marie!

Our team is consistently striving to exceed our guests expectations and your feedback further reassures us that we are on the right track.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you again soon at Quality Inn &Suites Bay Front Sault Ste. Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We spent two nights at the Hotel as part of a family vacation / road trip. The price was reasonable and the distance from Sault Ste. Marie to many of our points of interest such as Pancake Bay on Lake Superior were tolerable even for our three year old. The hotel amenities were great, including a pool and exercise room, and the included buffet breakfast was an added bonus when you are feeding a family of four. Be sure to check out -The Docks- restaurant and their fresh Lake Superior and Ontario fish.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny N, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. Our team at Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front values your feedback.

We are delighted that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and that you liked our downtown location close to all Sault Ste Marie tourist attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to The Sault!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front

Address: 180 Bay Street, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 6S2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#7 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
108 room & suite full service hotel. Indoor pool, sauna, hot tub & fitness centre. Restaurant & Lounge. Meeting rooms to hold up to 100 people. Choice Hotels gold award winner. Located in downtown Sault Ste. Marie, On. directly across from the Agawa Canyon Tour Train, Station Mall, Essar entertainment centre, River Boardwalk and only 1 block from the casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bay Front Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Quality Inn
Bay Front Quality Inn
Quality Inn Sault Ste. Marie
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.