We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Bay Street, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 6S2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed two nights. Our room was comfortable and large. It is very convenient for anyone taking the Agawa train trip. Our dinner at the hotel was very good, the box lunch(for the train) would have been better with some lettuce in the sandwich.
Coffee and the fridge in the room made a do-it-yourself breakfast easy for our early departure. Fresh fruit was available at Kelly's in the Station Mall. The boardwalk and Casino are nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormaKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a large suite. It was across from the elevator on the second floor and very noisy whenever anyone got off the elevator. The hotel is directly across the street from the Agawa Train station which is very convenient for those (like us) who were taking the Agawa Canyon train ride.

The hotel does not have a continental breakfast but does have a restaurant. Parking was free but the lot was almost always full. The casino is a couple of blocks away. We had dinner at the casino which is completely non smoking which we found fabulous.

Room Tip: Request a room as far away from the front of the hotel as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drbubba1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I made reservations in March to stay for 3 days because we were taking the Agawa train ride at the end of Sept. When reservations were made IN MARCH we were told riverview was reserved. We checked in and were told "we're booked" and no we do not have riverview. Needless to say I was not happy. We ended up with a room that if you pressed your face against the window you could see around the corner. The hotel is not right on the water anyway but a room with more of a view was requested 6 months ahead of time. We ended up looking at a parking lot. I did'nt expect to have a breath taking view but I did expect more after talking to the reservationist. Basically they apologized but they couldn't do anything about it. Must say left a really bad taste in our mouths and will stick with hotels that have honored long time reservations.We ended our stay a day early and stayed at another hotel. On another note the room was clean except to flush the toilet you had to hold the handle down the entire flush. We are from Michigan and won't be going to Canada for a long time and doubt we will reserve any Quality Inn in MI or anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnNJeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here on an overnight stop in Sault Ste. Marie, and had a great stay. Front desk staff were exceptionally friendly. Room was large, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Not the cheapest option (my room ran about $125), but worth it. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAWJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
204 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel because of its location across from the Agawan Train Station. Central downtown location. Ample parking, slow Internet. The hotel was renovated and everything looks new. The restaurant is the weak spot here with fair to poor food.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robear46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ontario
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is very nice - the rooms are spacious, the beds are comfortable and the bathroom has plenty of countertop space which is important when you have two people with all their toiletries. It is right across the street from a mall which has a Tim Hortons (important for us), good shopping, a nice theatre and restaurant. Just a short walk to the casino and to the arena. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I was recently part of a group to spent the weekend at this hotel. The check in process was easy and I felt very comfortable. However the 2 nd person to arrive later, who was sharing my room (I had given the desk the name of the person) was told that I was not registred and they did not have a room for her. It was only after a further inquiry and some time, were they able to find that I had registered 2 hrs earlier and her name was on the form as the 2nd occupant. The refigerator did not work, I reported this to the front desk 3 times the first day and 2 times the next day. Aparently they had checked the refigerator on the 2 nd day but we were not made aware of this and again it was not fixed. The solution given to us by the staff, was to put a bucket of ice inside and have the fan blow the cold air around and that might help. Wonder it they got that idea when then they checked out the refigrator that afternoon (that was what we were trying) Then the toilet was sluggish on the first day and did not work on the 2nd. The maintence person did come up to plunge it and at one point asked if we would come into the bathroom and he would show us how to flush. Like I did not know how to do this!!!!. They had to move us to another room for the rest of our visit.. The refigerator did not work in that room either. On the good side, the beds were comfortable, the rooms a good size and the window alcove very pleasant. The closeness to the mall was a bonus. I hope that others had a better experience than we did.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Karen,

As the General Manager I take full responsibility for the guest experience. It is unfortunate that your experience here with us left you “not entirely happy”.

As a Gold Award recipient we take pride in knowing that we are amongst the Top 10% of Choice Hotels Canada.

It causes me great concern that you experienced those inconveniences, and that is not acceptable by any measure. I will be launching a quality control inquiry addressing your concerns and the defects with my staff.

We will strive to ensure your future stays with us will meet your expectations.

It is our goal to ensure you have a pleasurable comfortable stay with us.

Sincerely,
Shane Reinhart
General Manager
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#3 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
2.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Delta Sault Ste Marie Waterfront Hotel and Conference Centre
Delta Sault Ste Marie Waterfront...
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
1.8 mi away
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites
Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suite...
#4 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front

Address: 180 Bay Street, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 6S2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
108 beautifully appointed rooms & suites, full service hotel. Indoor pool, sauna, hot tub & fitness centre. Restaurant & Lounge. Four Meeting & Banquet rooms ,Business Centre. Choice Hotels 2015 Platinum award winner, top 3% of all of Canada for Guest satisfaction,Room Cleanliness and Product Quality . Located in downtown Sault Ste. Marie, On. directly across from the Agawa Canyon Tour Train, Station Mall, Essar entertainment centre, River Boardwalk, Mill Market and only 1 block from the casino and the closest hotel to The International Bridge between US and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bay Front Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Bay Front Quality Inn
Sault Ste. Marie Quality Inn
Quality Inn Sault Ste. Marie
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing